Kyiv (Kiev) - no chicken, but lots of Varenicky


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kiev
October 12th 2005
Published: October 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I love this city, especially the girls . . .

The last few nights I was there I stayed with a great host - Yuriy and his girlfriend Julia, at their dormitory and was able to experience Ukrainian university life. Really not that different from American dorms, except the little things - like that their dorm was an hour train ride from the University, and the dorm had two working showers for 200 students. One of the nights I was there I made chili for them, which they all seemed to love. I also introduced them to Tabasco. The best, though was the next night when they showed me how to make Varenicky, which is basically the Ukrainian version of pierogies. Just like my grandma used to make!

It was interesting talking with everyone about the Orange Revolution, and their participation. It was a peaceful revolution, but still, how many people can say they took part in a revolution?


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb