Saturday: Kharkiv Day 1


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kharkiv
September 11th 2010
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day One in Kharkov


Weather: It's warm out today! I'm wearing the jacket only for the zippered pocket thing I mentioned yesterday, but without that, I would NOT be wearing a jacket today!

Out of bed about 9:00 this morning. I can definitely feel the walking of the past week in my legs this morning! Today will be a rest and take it easy day.

No hot water for a shower. Not sure if it's just no hot water, a shared hot water tank, or if I have to turn something on around here to have hot water. I'll have to email them to find out.

Went for a quick walk along the main streets to get my bearings for around town. Other than this apartment, the area is very nice. Walking the streets, I don't feel uncomfortable in the least. It does sort of feel like walking through the streets of Toronto. Very different stores, but the same sort of atmosphere.
Found Restaurant Pushka. Picked up a bottle of juice and a bottle of Sprite, and headed back to the apartment. Today will be a few short excursions just to get familiar with the immediate area before I venture too far away.

Back to the apartment, did some reading online to find the locations of the main points of interest around. I think I have a good idea of where I'll be venturing off to. I do have a map, so that will help as well.

At this point, I don't know if I'll last the entire six days in Kharkov. I am considering cutting this stop a bit shorter, and maybe returning to Poltava for an additional day or two before heading back to Kiev on Wednesday night/Thursday morning, or, I may just head all the way back to Kiev and add an additional day or two there. I think I cut that city way too short. I originally put Kiev on the itinerary just as the starting and end points, but didn't really schedule any real time there. I may cut Kharkov down by a day or two, and give Kiev the difference. I would like to explore that city a bit more. I doubt that the current two days in Kiev is going to be enough, where six days in Kharkov could be too much. We'll see once I get going and give Kharkov a chance.
I can confidently state that I probably will not return to Kharkov again in the future though. With that said, maybe I should give it the full six days, knowing that I won't be back. We'll see.

Back out to get something to eat. McDonald's again .. again, only because it's the one place that I know of around here yet! LOL

I lost my entire notes file from the iPod. I had made notes along the trip so far, and somehow lost the entire file. I signed up for the travelblog.org site, and recreated the notes that I had so far. I'm sure I missed a few things, but as I think of them, I'll go back and edit the entries.

It's 21:00, and I'm feeling my eyes getting heavy. I'll sign off for the night, watch a bit of TV, and drift off to sleep.
Good night all!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb