Filling in time


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
November 2nd 2009
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Giant Chair01 Giant Chair01 Giant Chair

A huge chair outside the United Nations, a monument to landmine victims.
Geo: 46.2038, 6.13996

Had a sleep in this morning. I wasn't feeling as enthusiastic this morning as usual. I think it is because I am now in a large city and for the past week have been in small towns, which I really enjoyed. Hopped on a tram and went to see the UN building and then caught another tram to the old part of town. From here I walked through Bastion Park and then into the old town. It was very quiet, not many people around at all. I then realised that it was Monday and in Europe many tourist places are closed on this day.

Today's weather was rubbish and it affected my mood. I walked through St Peter's Cathedral and continued walking through the old town. To fill in time I committed a travellers crime- I went to Starbucks. I wanted to sit somewhere warm and read my book.

After my lunch I walked around the lake and got closer to the Jet d'Eau. Now it began to rain so I caught a tram back to the hostel to pick up my bag. Then I walked to the train station and got the train to the airport.

A few hours
02 Flags02 Flags02 Flags

Lots of flags outside the United Nations building.
later I landed at London City Airport. This was the first time I used this airport. It is quite small and so easy to get home from.



Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

03 United Nations03 United Nations
03 United Nations

The European headquarters of the UN.
04 Parc de Bastions04 Parc de Bastions
04 Parc de Bastions

The beautiful colours of autumn.
05 Parc de Bastions05 Parc de Bastions
05 Parc de Bastions

A very droopy tree in the park.
06 Parc de Bastions06 Parc de Bastions
06 Parc de Bastions

The Reformation Wall.
07 Parc de Bastions07 Parc de Bastions
07 Parc de Bastions

A relief dipicting the history of the Reformation.
08 Parc de Bastions08 Parc de Bastions
08 Parc de Bastions

The four leaders of the Reformation in Geneva.
09 Parc de Bastions09 Parc de Bastions
09 Parc de Bastions

A fountain in the park.
10 Old Town10 Old Town
10 Old Town

A square in the old town.
11 Autumn 11 Autumn
11 Autumn

Autumn in the old town.
12 St Peter's Cathedral12 St Peter's Cathedral
12 St Peter's Cathedral

The entrance to the cathedral.
13 Coat of Arms13 Coat of Arms
13 Coat of Arms

A dragon with the coat of arms of Geneva.
14 Inside14 Inside
14 Inside

Inside the cathedral.
15 The Stalls15 The Stalls
15 The Stalls

The wooden carved stalls.
16 Outside the cathedral16 Outside the cathedral
16 Outside the cathedral

The square outside the cathedral.
17 St Peter's17 St Peter's
17 St Peter's

The entrance to the cathedral.
18 Next to the cathedral18 Next to the cathedral
18 Next to the cathedral

A building next to the cathedral, maybe part of it?
19 Arsenal19 Arsenal
19 Arsenal

To the left is the entry to the ancient arsenal.
20 Mosaics20 Mosaics
20 Mosaics

These three mosaics depict the arrival of Julius Cesar in Geneva.
21 Cannon21 Cannon
21 Cannon

Decoration on the cannon.


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb