Switzerland 2008


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
August 12th 2008
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Monday, August 11 - Most of the group chose to take the vans to the Justistal (mountain valley) to hike and see cheese made where the cows are kept in the Summer. I rented a bike and rode with a local, Ernst Amstutz, from Sigriswil. It was a tough uphill ride, mostly in the lowest gear available. Ernst is 72 and very fit. We met up with another rider from Bern who had started at an even lower level - he was 75! The two of them talked as they rode while I tried to catch my breath!

We were welcomed by the cheesemaker and he explained the process all the while very busy stoking the wood fire under the milk and getting the cheese hoops and cloth ready for the next batch. The building where the cheese was made was also a barn for keeping the cows and the cheesemaker's home.
We had lunch here and sampled his cheese.

I rode my bike on to Beatenberg - the rest followed in the vans. From Beatenburg, the group rode the cable car up to the Niederhorn - on top, we we able to look back down to the Justital
Deb with Amy and OrlandoDeb with Amy and OrlandoDeb with Amy and Orlando

Amy and Orlando are Ernst and Mathilde Amstutz's grandchildren from England.
from where we just came. Several of the group rented scooters and coasted down from the halfway point to Beatenberg.

Weather was moving in the from the South, so we hurried down the mountain and I took off on a VERY fast downhill ride to Sigriswil. Rain hit just as I arrive in town.

In the evening an Alp horn player came by to play for us and take pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



12th August 2008

wow
wow that bike ride sounds amazing! Where is Switzerland did you do this? I am going there in a few days and I might have time to check it out. I just found a travel site that you might like baraaza.com . You can regveiw destinations, add photos, share tips with other travelers and get info about new places you are going (thts how I found it). It is still in private beta but anyone can join. I think you might like it. Safe travels! Melissa

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb