Final day in Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Thun
May 5th 2012
Published: May 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Once again, I allowed God the honour of waking me up that morning - who needs an alarm clock when you have the Holy Spirit? It was a beautiful sunny day and the panoramic view before me when I drew back my curtains was breath-takingingly beautiful. It was also great motivation to get ready and start the day.

At 8:00 before breakfast I decided to take a walk - being outside with such a great view before me gave me a different kind of closeness to God - His might, power and majesty and at the same time, I kept thinking, this same God who made these huge mountains, loves me!

The breakfast table conversation that morning soon turned to the night before, when Alana had been filled with the Holy Spirit and how later God had spoken to her of the reconciliation between the Northern and Southern states in the USA. The talk of reconciliation and America then went on to the reconciliation that needs to take place between the native Indians and Europeans. Rusty told us the story of the Trail of Tears, about how thousands of Indians had been forced by European settlers to leave the land they had come from and been marched across America in the middle of winter, many dying along the way because they were so poorly treated. I'd never heard anyone talking of reconciliation in this way and for some reason it deeply touched me.

I went up to my room afterwards with a burden and sadness on my heart and I realized that God was speaking to me of the reconciliation between Wales and England. I felt such hurt and brokeness and later I realized that God was placing on my heart the burden of reconciliation between Wales and England and the hurt that has been experienced on both sides through generations and generations. I also felt a need to repent on behalf of both nations and God brought to my attention again a word that had been spoken over me the night before, about how as the Welsh daughter of English parents I would be one of God's tools in the reconciliation process because of my ability to see both sides of the argument. When all this hit me and I realized with sudden clarity and revelation that that was one reason why God was calling me back to Wales, I felt so glad - for so long the issue of returning to Wales has been tormenting me but I know now that God isn't finished there with me yet and France is just one of the nations that He's going to call me to. How exciting! Out of everything that I received and experienced during those few days at Labeshuus, I think that touched me the most deeply and personally and it's something I've been holding on to as if it was a precious treasure - I'm so happy that God has given me this assignment.

When we were all together again in the prayer house, we talked some more about the Anabaptists and the meeting of repentance with Menonite leaders that had been taking place in Germany whilst we were in Switzerland. Rusty had also received a prayer request email to pray for different European nations, including Wales!

The time passed quickly and we were all soaking in God's presence when there came a sharp knock at the door from our Swiss cook - we were 10 minutes late for lunch! How dare we!

But luckily after lunch we had some more prayer time and Steffan, the house director came with his 13-year-old daughter so we could pray for them.

After that it was time to pack up and leave and I did so with a heavy heart - I really didn't want to leave! To have to go back into reality seemed like a very daunting journey and I was worried where things would go with me and God after such a great time with Him.

I was also anxious to know if Laetitia had had her baby whilst I'd been away but I needn't have worried on that score, when I arrived home, tired and a bit nauseous after the drive, she was still there, as smiling and pregnant as ever.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb