Breech of security


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
December 20th 2006
Published: December 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We are now in Rome, having traveled overnight in a train from Interlaken, Switzerland. My family comes tomorrow to spend two weeks with us in Italy. For the past week, we have enjoyed the (icy) pleasures of Switzerland in December.

We stayed in Bern, the capital of Switzerland, for three days, then traveled to the backpackers mecca of Interlaken. We took the train to the highest train station in Europe at the top of the mountain Jungfraujoch! Incredible views of glaciers and snow for miles.

Unfortunately, our adventures have taken a turn for the worse. I knew when traveling into Rome that there was something ominous lurking in Italy. Our luck has been too good to hold out: beautiful weather in every country, no missed or delayed trains, and a complete absence of sleeping in airports. The trip had been too good to be true.

It happened on the train from Switzerland to Italy. We reserved a 6 bunk couchette sleeper in the 12-hour overnight train. We went to sleep around midnight, and were locked into our sleeper for security measures. The train staff took our Eurail pass and passports (thank goodness) for the night and promised to give them back the next morning. When we awoke the next morning, Adam noticed that his daypack that had been on the luggage rack above him was now lying on the floor. He went through it and discovered that his camera, sunglasses, and cash had been stolen. This prompted me to dig through my backpack that had been at my feet during the night. Upon opening it, I realized that my things had been put back in the bag out of order. My wallet was open and empty of cash, and my camera was gone. It was a sickening feeling to know that someone had been in our wagon that night and had been rifling through our posessions, taking what they wanted.
I alerted the staff member, who only spoke a little English, and described the scene. He retrieved forms for us to fill out about our missing items and it was then that another lady in our cabin noticed the most alarming thing: the rubber door enclosure had been cut. Our perpetrator had slit the door so that they could unlock it from the inside and then open the door. We found the police station in Rome, and made report. I know that our valuables will not be retrieved, but I am trying to focus on good things to come and the fact that they are only things. Cameras can be replaced.

It makes me sick to think about the need or desire that some people in this world have. Something pushes them even to the point of violating others. To combat this act, I have included some "happy pictures" that I retained. Most of my photographs from the past month are now gone, but I have these to hold on to.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Ogre eating babiesOgre eating babies
Ogre eating babies

Infamous statue in Bern, Switzerland
Interlaken, Switzerland.Interlaken, Switzerland.
Interlaken, Switzerland.

Check out that glacial melt. Beautiful water.


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb