Geneva, Christmas and Laser Eyes!!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
December 27th 2007
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ChristmasChristmasChristmas

From left Cousins Clint and Carmel, me, Jasmine, Penny (Jeff's sister) and in front is Nicola.
Hi there!

Well it's been a while since I last sent a group update and so I though i'd put you all out of your misery and let you know what i've been up to in the last few months!

In November my family and I (cousins and Nicola) had a trip planned to Geneva in Switzerland which we were all looking forward to, I don't know why exactly as it turned out to be the most boring weekend of our lives. Not only was there no-one around, any bar or restaurant we found (which weren't many I can tell you) had either not been re-furbished since the seventies or didn't serve food when we wanted to eat.

As if that wasn't bad enough there was absolutely nothing to do so we literally strolled around for two days in -5 degree temperatures. The highlight was going up a snow-covered mountain on the Sunday before we left, Nicola and Carmel didn't come up as they didn't want to go on the cable car so Jeff, Clint and I went up and I don't think any of us were expecting the trek that we had to go on to get
ChristmasChristmasChristmas

Our nibbles before the big meal
to the top. I was expecting a viewing platform and then just going down again. Don't get me wrong it was loads of fun but I really wasn't prepared for the slippery walkways and on the way down to the cable car I was literally skiing in my shoes, thankfully Jeff was there to keep me steady at times and Clint just cruised on ahead as he had shoes with grip!

Christmas was great although after shopping in Oxford street the week before Christmas I don't actually know how I got through it, especially considering on the news they said there were 1.5 million people shopping there over one weekend. It all paid off though as we had a lovely Christmas with all the trimmings at Nicola's flat in Northfields making our Mother's very proud no doubt. We all agreed though that it's easy to take a NZ Christmas for granted as we all felt a little restless being cooped up inside for three days.

After Christmas everyone went back to work (except me as I had a month off) and on the 28th went in for my eagerly anticipated Laser Eye Treatment. No doubt you have already
ChristmasChristmasChristmas

Jeff Carving the Turkey
guessed that the outcome was fantastic, otherwise i'd be having some serious trouble typing this email!!

Nicola spent the weekend with me while I recovered and I still can't believe how quickly your eyes heal, I literally had the surgery at 5.15pm Friday and woke up Saturday morning with 20/20 vision it was absolutely brilliant! Mum and Dad will vouch for me on that one as they got a very excited phonecall from me in the early hours of my Saturday morning. If you're interested in the details i'll let you know via seperate emails as I wouldn't want to scare anyone that might be a little squeemish!

So next up was my birthday aka. New Years Eve. Nicola, Jasmine, Kelly and I celebrated in style by going to Gordon Ramsay's Claridges Restaurant in Mayfair. We had a three course lunch and the whole experience was just fantastic. We were treated like royalty and the Waiters literally lined up beside our table with our food on silver platters, it was some of the most exquisite food i've ever tasted -I could definateky get used to that kind of treatment!

That night we celebrated New Years with some
ChristmasChristmasChristmas

Our Beautifully presented Dining Table
of Nicola's friends in Clapham whilst dancing to Good Times Sound System, you've probably never heard of them as I hadn't either and probably won't again as they weren't very good! We made the most of an average night and then headed back to have out own NYE party.

So after recovering from that I was able to get in some sightseeing with The Chevaliers (my friends who's children I used to look after at home in Days Bay). Was great to catch up with them and to see such places as the Natural History Museum and Oxford which I hadn't been to.

From here I had a few days off then off to Iceland which I will inform you about in the next blog coming soon!

P.S Take a good look at those pictures of me with glasses as they're the last ones you'll be seeing for a while 😊















Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

GenevaGeneva
Geneva

Nicola and Jeff trying to avoid frostbite on their faces!
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

Strolling through some markets
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

Give up guys, there's no where to go!
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

Outside the Chocolatier
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

Rugby Photo
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

Finally we found somewhere open for a drink!
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

Clint having a good ol' time on the swing up the mountain (you may have noticed none of us got the name of it!)
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

A deserted cable car
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

Check out that scenery
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

Just like Narnia
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

This one speaks for itself
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

Jeff in one arm, big stick in the other and still I can't help falling over!
GenevaGeneva
Geneva

The slide which we all had many turns going down!


16th January 2008

Happy New Year
Loved your blog, awesome to hear from you!! Happy Birthday aswell for the 31st, sorry I didnt send an email! Lasser eye treatment sounds awesome, Im sad you wont b wearing glasses anymore, you suited them!! Whanau and I are all good. I will send you a proper email soon with all our updates. Lots of love Kate J

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb