The Golden Pass Line


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
March 24th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

One of the trips I wanted to take my mom, my Uncle Joe, and my Aunt Lien on while they are in Switzerland is the Golden Pass Line train ride from Lucerne to Montreux. I was not really sure how to work this deal. But, I did eventually find out. Okay, here it is. In the winter, there are only two "real" Golden Pass Line trains per day. I missed them both, I guess. Now, you can still "do" the ride, just on regular trains. Is it a big deal that you don't do the "real" train. Well, my understanding of it is that the "real" train does not make as many stops and changes along the way. Or at least that is my impression of the situation. I took the regular train and it was okay. It just gets real boring after a couple of hours. You have to switch trains several times on the trip. Not that big of a deal. But, still, I did not want my relatives getting up and running around stations on their trip. The last part of the trip we did get a "real" Golden Pass Line train. It was VERY nice. You can reserve the front six seats under the engineer so that it feels like you are driving the train. I sat there for a few minutes, then went back to my own seat. Overall, the train ride is okay. It is just very long. It probably would have been better had I caught the "real" Golden Pass Line. But, I did get a taste of it. I told my Uncle it was way too long. We will look for a shorter ride in Switzerland, instead. Plus, we then would have to get back on the train the next day to take it back to Lucerne. Nah, I will pass on that action!!!! Myadvice..long ride...bring a book..


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



25th March 2009

Trailer Park?
not many trailer parks with that kind of view back at home!
28th March 2009

Looks peaceful
How long is long? Looks like stunning country to stop and hike around, or is it to cold?

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb