Hiking in die Schweiz!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
August 11th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So with a lack of sleep we got breakfast early in the morning. It was a good breakfast buffet. Then we tried to figure out some stuff to do but decided to rest a bit more before doing something. After awhile of rest, we got some ice cream at the gas station. I got Swiss Chocolate ice cream and it was yummy. Then the girl who was at the hotel desk, since her shift was over and she was driving to the city, offered to give us a ride. During that ride I discovered that Switzerland is the first place in Europe that I saw speed limit signs! Oh... speaking of speed limits... I think London still uses miles because on some bus there it said it couldn't go more than 35 mph and I don't think that stood for meters per hour. Anyways, back to die Schweiz. We went to some tourist information center and found out about hiking and it turned out we had to take a boat across Lake Lucerne to get there! That got me worried, especially since my pills and seabands were back at the hotel. But we went and found an Apotheke (drug store) and got some pills for me. The boat ride was nice. There was a nice breeze and we got to see some nice scenery. Then we got to the place where we could take a train up the mountain. That was cool too. Then when we were up on Mt. Rigi, and we needed something to eat. We didn't find much, we got chocolate cookie wafer thingies, some cheese, and chips. Then it was kinda cold and I thought I might need a sweatshirt but all the sweatshirts for sale on the mountain were super expensive. So Cindy offered me hers cause she wasn't cold for some strange reason. It was starting to rain but we went hiking anyway. It was so beautiful up there, and the rain wasn't that bad. It was pouring for a couple of minutes but after that it was on and off and we really enjoyed our hike. We were also walking in clouds! It started to get really foggy and the path we were on was getting wet so we decided to turn around. Then we had to wait around for the train back down and we went down, waited around for the boat, and got back to Lucerne. Then we found me a sweatshirt (a bit late, lol) and got something to eat... nothing special, I just had a wrap. Then we had to find the train to Stans, because that's where our motel is. So we finally found it and then it was really weird and daddy kept saying all this stuff about how we were in the twilight zone and we were going to starve because all we had to eat was gummy cokes (oh yeah! I forgot to tell you about these... but at some store my dad bought gummy cokes lol) and a chunk of cheese. We were the only people in the first class section of the train and it was really creepy. And it left 25 minutes late... usually trains in Europe are right on time! It was weird. So when we got to Stans we had to catch a bus. So we did but then we were all confused because the driver said he'd stop at our stop but then he passed it and we got all confused but eventually he let us off when he passed it the second time. Then, I went to sleep. Yay, sleep. I took a sleeping pill but it didn't help much. I went to sleep and daddy went to get some money or something from some ATM machine I think. I didn't hear him come back, but eventually I heard his snoring which proved that the sleeping pill didn't work. 😞 I have another type of sleeping pill that I might try too. So another horrible night of sleep...



Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb