And the sun comes... when?


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Büetigen
May 31st 2007
Published: May 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

It was sunny when we left Paris today, but the clouds came up again and when we got off at Laussane the thunder was booming overhead. Rain followed shortly after, and all the streets of Bern were glazed thickly with water. It feels a little too much like home, and my tan is far too slow in coming.
We're staying at a friend's house in Bern; tonight his mom (who speaks only French) cooked us a traditional Swiss meal, which involved melting slices of a special kind of cheese (in an appliance I've never seen before) and pouring it over potatoes. Très bien! We may get snow when we journey into the little alpine village of Gimmewald on Saturday, which would be a fun adventure.
It's nice to see mountains and pines and endless green again. J'adore Paris, but the city can be hard on the soul after awhile, even one as awash in beauty as the capital of France. Paris values beauty and passion (yes, this does include couples making out on the street corners). Her grandeur is impressive yet graceful; completely natural and unforced. Perhaps I'm wrong to judge London after only one day there, but Paris seems so different. She's a personality, not just a city; she's part of her people, not just a shell that surrounds them. She's the heart of France, and I could feel her pulse everywhere I went, whether it was on a daytrip to Monet's garden or to Versailles, or in front of the Eiffel Tower at night as it was suddenlz lit by a thousand bonsoir flashes, as if all the tourists in Paris had decided to photograph the city below them. I hope to go back one day; because of the rain we missed out on a few things, including going into the Louvre and up the Eiffel Tower.
On his computer, our Swiss friend Pierrick has a picture of Witty's Lagoon. Everyone we meet seems to know how lucky we are on the Island, and I haven't yet forgotten it. It's amazing, all the little things I take for granted at home: clean clothes, full meals, knowing where I'll sleep at night, being able to ask for directions and to understand the answer... Oh, it feels like we've been gone far longer than two weeks, but really, there's so much left to do. Never let petty reasons stop you from getting on that plane... really - it's worth every penny!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

At last... a statue without wardrobe malfunctionAt last... a statue without wardrobe malfunction
At last... a statue without wardrobe malfunction

(She's being a good example for her baby.)


1st June 2007

I love the photos, they are beautiful. That's funny about the statues. PS Your are a awesome writer Liz, you should look into a creative writing course.
3rd June 2007

Wow, I totally wish I was there!!
This blog thing is a fantastic idea, and I agree with the comment above, you are a fantastic writer! I can see in my mind what you describe, and it's almost as if I am there with you two. Give my love to Alice would you? Keep on treckin, and eat something cool and exotic for me too!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb