And off we go...


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
October 12th 2014
Published: October 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hello there!

Maybe I should start with introducing myself! I'm Wilma and I'm 20 years old. I live in the small country called Sweden and I'm now on my way out for an adventure! Welcome and I hope you'll enjoy reading my entries!

But let's get started. Today it's 12th of October and i'm on my way to a concentration camp in Poland. It's called Auschwitz and is one of the most famous ones, or well at least from what I've heard. I'll tell you more when I've arrived...

7 hours later...

So, I'm finally here, it took me like 15 hours or something.. I caught the train in Gothenburg and arrived in Malmö approx 3 hours later. Then I couldn't find any cheap flights so as simple as it was I hitchhiked. I'm surprised that someone actually was going to Krakow and picked me up, so yeah, 12 hours later we were there.

The first thought that came to my mind was that the place was huge. It felt so dark and I had no good feeling about it. I read that 1,3 million people got deported there and that 1,1 million of them died. That's so freaking terrible... We had a guide there that showed us around and she said that the majority of prisoners there wasn't Jews, it was only a small amount of all the prisoners that actually were Jews. And that's something new for me, I've always believed that it was only Jewish people that got deported to the concentration camp.. But yeah I stayed here for one day and it was an incredible experience, it wasn't one of the happiest times of my life but I think that it's important for people to see what actually happened there.

Anyhow, that was my day at Auschwitz! Then it was time to go to another place, the next destination for my backpacking, yeeeyy! You wanna know where I went?

Ooohh Paaariiisss, in France!

I flied from Krakow to Paris Charles de Gaulle, it took about 20 minutes haha but someone asked me about my first impression about the city and what I could say was wow! Really! I've never been there before and it was just soooo amazing! So much to see, to visit. I could stay there for months. But yeah I'm just staying here for three days so.. But like I said, wow!

While backpacking I hadn't found somewhere to stay so the first thing I did after getting a cheeseburger at McDonald's was to go to the tourist centre, felt like a good place to go to haha.. Anyways, they told me about a hotel called Avalon, they showed me some pictures and I can't say that it was the fanciest hotel I've ever seen but they had breakfast and something to sleep on so it worked for me, at least it was cheap so.

There was just a few minutes to walk to the hotel so that's what i did. Down at the reception I had to wait for a while. There was a lot of people there and I saw this freaking hot guy, I mean shit, sorry but he was just sooo attractive and from what I could see he was alone.

Ten minutes later it was only me, him and three other people there. Oh and yes I saw that he was looking at me hahah! I saw my chance and I took it, I started to talk to him. Of course he was nice and we had a good conversation. His name was Ashton and he was from England. He was taller than me and had brown hair with green eyes, yum.. As he told me he was here alone I asked if he possibly wanted to spend his time in Paris with me. He said yes. And all was set. We ate dinner together later at the hotel restaurant. But we both were tired so we said goodnight ant went to bed.

A new day and I was excited to see Paris with my new travelpartner. We decided to go to the Eiffeltower (which is something you have it visit if you go to Paris) and it was lovely. Nothing much to tell about it haha we just had a nice day there and then we actually went to an Italian restaurant where we ate a huuuuge pizza haha. When we came back to the hotel we just had a drink at the hotelbar before we went to bed.

Thursday... The third day in Paris. We were eating breakfast when Ashton told me it was his birthday today! 23 years! I had no idea about this and of course I wanted to celebrate him. We had no plans for the day so I took him to a wineyard and bought some wine and stuff. Nothing special haha we just hanged there for a while cuz it was a very beautiful view. After that we went back to the city and went shooping at this famous street called Rue de Passy and we found some cool stuff. At the night we went back to the Italian restaurant we visited the other day but what he didn't know was that I had called and asked for a "birthday special" haha so when we had got a table the waiters and waitresses sang for him and gave us champagne and over all we got all the food for half the price! Haha yeah it was a good night. He thanked me and it felt great to do something nice for him. But time flies when you have fun and it was time for bed.

My three days in Paris had been amazing and I will definitely go there again. No it's time to go visit another place in the world. I don't know where yet but I will tell you in my next entry!

xo xo Wilma



http://se.avstand.org/Malmö/Krakow

http://sv.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Auschwitz

http://en.auschwitz.org/m/

http://www.ladda-upp.se/bilder/frzvfcmxxfch/

http://www.hostelbookers.com/hotels/france/paris/16711/

http://www.toureiffel.paris/en.html

http://www.caratello.fr

http://www.viator.com/tours/Paris/Champagne-Tour-from-Paris-Moet-and-Chandon-Hautvillers-and-the-House-of-Mumm/d479-5045CHAMPAGNE

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb