2 Kingdoms in 20 Minutes


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
May 22nd 2006
Published: May 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fredensborg PalaceFredensborg PalaceFredensborg Palace

The main mansion that comprises the palace.
So I am definitely getting my fill of palaces and castles here in Denmark. On Thursday I headed north from Copenhagen to the town of Fredensborg, home of the Queen’s spring and fall residence. The town of Fredensborg is actually quite charming; it is very small made up of about two streets, with a wonderful little bagel shop right in the middle. It only took me about 45 minutes by train from Copenhagen and perhaps another 10-minute walk to the Palace. The thing about Fredensborg is that it is actually more of a compound, with the main palace in the center, then with two wings coming out and around to form kind of like an unfinished pentagon. It is also surrounded by a large park filled with gardens, statues, and 16 kilometers of paths that border a lake. I was surprised again to see how accessible it is, as the park is open to the public. Basically you can walk around the Queen’s backyard. The park is great with old trees overhanging wide paths. I walked around for a little bit then went to the Palace in time for the changing of the guard. It was a smaller ceremony then usual
Nice HatsNice HatsNice Hats

Changing of the Queen's Life Guards
because nobody was home, but it was still interesting all the same.

After my trek back to the train station, I got on another train and headed for Helsingnor, situated on the coast of Denmark and home to another famous castle. Kronborg Slot sits right on the coast and was built to protect Denmark from those pesky Swedes. Kronborg is also often referred to as Elsinor Castle, because it was the model for the castle home to that moody Danish prince of Shakespeare fame, Hamlet.

Helsingor is only separated from the Swedish coast and the town of Helsingborg by 5 kilometers. I hoped on a ferry and about 20 minutes later I was officially in the country of Sweden. Helsingborg used to be a Danish territory but became Swedish during a war between the two kingdoms. Because I had such little time in Sweden I decided not to rush around too much and just kind of soak it all in instead. I had a cup of coffee (my thing is that I have a cup of coffee in every country I visit to see who has the best. So far it is still Croatia), and walked along the
Park PathsPark PathsPark Paths

Leading up to the backyard of the palace.
waterfront. I then climbed up Karnan, the town’s watchtower that was built in the 1300s. It used to be part of the city’s original fortifications but they were all destroyed after Sweden and Denmark signed a peace treaty. I have a lot of respect for Sweden, as they are very progressive on a lot of important issues such as the environment and human rights so I hope to make back on another trip to spend more time in Stockholm.

Saturday morning I left Denmark for Frankfurt Germany. It took about 4 hours to Hamburg and then another 3 1/2 to Frankfurt. Once in Frankfurt I boarded a bus to Hahn, which is where Ryan Air, a German discount airline flies out of. The bus ride took about an hour and a half but it was a gorgeous tour of the German countryside. I am taking a bit of a detour in my European trip. As my imminent return home is upon me, I decided I better start thinking on how I am going to pay for all this when I get back. So I am going to try to find myself a leprechaun and a pot of gold.
Kronborg SlotKronborg SlotKronborg Slot

Looking out over the sea







Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Helsingborg SwedenHelsingborg Sweden
Helsingborg Sweden

Entrance to the watch tower
Swedish StatueSwedish Statue
Swedish Statue

Intersting statues I found in a square


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb