Svveden, here I come!!!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
November 19th 2008
Published: November 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Svvvveden here I come!!! I left November 17, 2008. Just one day short from 7 months of living with the Neesh!!!

My flight was long and consisted of two short layovers. The first being in Washington D.C. and the second in Copenhagen, Denmark. The airport in Copenhagen was one of the nicest I have seen in all my travels. There was wood floor throughout a lot of the airport with tons of designer shops such as Versace, Gucci, Burberry, etc. There were also quite a few nice coffee shops that people were lounging in and drinking beers/shots at (kinda weird considering it was 7 in the morning!).

When I arrived in Gothenburg, Sweden (possibly my new home till April 15thish), I was greeted by our head coach, Jonas. It is always kinda interesting when I arrive in these places because I have no clue who is picking me up or where they will meet me, so it turns into a 15 second stare down between me and anyone else who looks like they may have some basketball in their blood! Coach took me straight to the gym where he taught me the plays, gave me some gear and prepared
Waiting aroundWaiting aroundWaiting around

Me and the 'Neesh
me for pre-game shoot around. Yep, you read it right. After 20 hours of flying they take you straight to the gym and expect you to learn the plays, meet the guys and be ready to play in a few hours. After practice we had pre-game meal, then I had the opportunity to come back to the hotel that I am staying in for awhile and get some rest.

After I teased myself with a short nap, I had to go meet a teammate and head to the game. The crowd was good, the gym is nice (a little small-only holds a 1000) and the player intro's are really cool. Smoke, lights, music, etc. All the funny European bells and whistles. We ended up losing and I played 26 of the 40 minutes. My evaluation of the game would be "bla." I didn't really do anything good and didn't really do anything bad. I was kinda just out there. It seemed as though I was a step slow so I don't really think I played anywhere near my potential. The league and the competition seems to be a little step up from Switzerland, but I do believe once I
My HotelMy HotelMy Hotel

My temporary housing!
get in the swing of things, I should do really well.

On Day 2 in Gothenburg, I slept till noon, toured the city with a few teammates, went to the mall and am now back in the hotel relaxing. I am looking forward to what lies ahead!

katsu mate!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Hotel RoomHotel Room
Hotel Room

Small room, small bed...thats Europe for ya!


20th November 2008

First to Comment
Nicely done BoS! I expect daily updates
24th November 2008

hotel
your hotel room is the size of my room at the Linda Vista apartment... this is payback for you snaking the big room first
24th November 2008

Love the blog
Hi Ross Loved reading about Sweden. This is a great way to keep us up to date on what is going on. I'll read it to Grandma when we get back to Jersey. Enjoy Aunt Janet

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb