First Few days in Sweden


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Västra Götaland County » Trollhättan
January 11th 2012
Published: January 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone! Well as promised this is my blog though you'll have to bear with me because ive not done this before lol :-P The last few days have been a bit of a roller coaster and everything is starting to blur together so i thought i would start before i forget things.

My journey actually starts just over a week ago, I'd just got back from a fab 3 days holiday with my family and Rowan :-) in Center Parks. I was leaving for Sweden in a week and I still had an essay for uni to finish before i went! majour oops! yes it was supposed to be finished before christmas with the other one but there was so much going on it just didnt happen! So I spent the next couple of days finishing my essay and madly trying to spend time with everyone especially Rowan :-) X. Then on Friday (the 5th) before i left on Sunday me and my wonderful parents had an exhausting day of fairly epic proportions. We were out of the house by 8am and on the way to uni for meetings with a couple of lecturers before I left and to hand in my two assignments. (yes i finished it in time! Phew!) and also to give back my library books i didnt really fancy the fines i would get if i forgot to do that! So we had lunch at uni and then went to Clare's :-) to say hi and pick up the very last few things that i'd left there (and take back a couple of things that accidentally ended up in my luggage :-S ... oopsie). After that (yes theres more) we drove to cheshire oakes to get me some stuff that i needed because its roumoured to be cold in sweden (its so true! lol) So a new coat and jacket a couple of fleeces a rediculous hat and some thermal trousers later it was getting quite late so we ate and drove home. we got there about 10.30pm. Needless to say I went to bed fairly quickly lol (I Like sleep).

Saturday: I woke up later than i'd planned because of being so tired from the day before and I started sorting out my luggage. Put it this way when i first had everything out i thought i might need it would probably have sunk a ship never mind a plane so it needed cutting down a bit. I went into town with mum to get some bits that i still needed (yes i know the day before! im so not a day before person!). It literally took me the rest of the day to pack and i felt bad because my grandma was there to see me and i was closeted in my room falling out with a suitcase, I packed and unpacked and repacked my suitcase so many times i wish i never had to pack it again and still everything didnt fit, and then it fit but it was too heavy! Rowan came over after work and we actually worked really well cutting down what i thought i needed I think we even went the whole time without bickering :-P. So finally the silly suitacse and the hand luggage were packed.

Sunday: Leaving day, although my flight wasnt until 6.25pm so i had most of the day so i had a little lie in and mum made and awesome brunch and i ate loads i swear i could have gone to sleep! lol. Then came the hard part, goodbyes, they were short and sweet and sad. I dont really do long goodbyes it just makes it harder on everyone. So then me and dad drove to Manchester airport and i said goodbye again and checked my luggage in and spent a bit of time in the terminal reading my new Kindle (its awesome!). Then I got on the plane, I love flying :-) it great. Only thing wrong with the flight was that i had to pay £2.50 for a cup of tea! how rediculous! So then I landed in Gothenburg or Goteborg as i should probably call it now. I got a taxi to the hostel i was staying in overnight (the taxi cost almost as much as the plane ticket!) but the hostel was great they really looked after me.

Monday: I didnt sleep great probably due to excitement/nervousness etc but i had a good breakfast and the hostel helped me work out how to get the tram to the main train station. Yes their public transport system is much better than ours but then a lot are unless you live in London. So I got to the train station and getting on the train with my suitcase was a task in itself they have steps up onto the train which is not easy with an almost 23Kg bag! And so after the train journey I finally arrived in Trollhattan. I was met at the station by Johan a student ambassador although when he says his name it sounds like the way we pronounce the welsh name Iwan. We picked up another exchange student Robin she's from Holland and came to our accommodation. Im really pleased becasue my building is 14 and its one of the closest buildings to campus and even then its a good 20-30minute walk. I feel so sorry for the people in building 127! but i suppose there is the bus. Robin and I spent the rest of the day exploring the university campus and the town which is quite small but there are a lot of travel opportunities to other places. I also met my flat mate chloe later in the evening shes from france and is here for the whole year. It started snowing in the afternoon!

Tuesday: A fairly uneventful day, although the snow was pretty :-). i spent the morning finishing unpacking and the afternoon exploring some more with Robin, and I printed some photos to go in my room its quite big and the walls looked a bit bare. Was wondering about everyone at Uni at home today because you've all started back. I hope you all did ok with your assignments its weird not being there with you.

Wednesday: Our first introduction day, we were wholeheartedly welcomed to the university which was nice and we sorted out all the boring stuff like library cards and uni accounts and email addresses (so altogether i now have four emails which is a bit silly i think but never mind) It was also really great to meet more of the other exchange students today there are students from Italy USA Turkey Holland Latvia Germany Nigeria i think there's someone coming from Ireland Finland etc etc we've a very diverse group. Anyways this is beginnning to be an essay and its getting late here and i have to get up early again in the morning to walk to uni for the second day if induction. We are sorting out our timetables or schedules :-P tomorrow lol. I will speak to you all very soon Missing you all so much already but really looking forwards to getting started! Loads of loves XxX

Ps I will post pictures soon

PPs apologies for any typos!

XxX

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb