Stockholm


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County
July 26th 2008
Published: October 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

When I stepped off the plane at 4pm, it was dark as midnight and -17C (1º F).
The answer: I had frequent flyer miles about to expire, and this destination was a special, low-miles rate. However, Sweden’s freezing temperatures led me to something I often overlook: visiting museums and cultural exhibitions, instead of wandering a city’s streets and hiking her nearby mountains.
By far, my favorite place in Stockholm was the Vasa Museum. The Vasa is a 17th-century warship that sank in the harbor a mile into her maiden voyage, due to poor design. Because of the conditions in the harbor, the wood-eating ship worms found in most of the oceans cannot survive, and the Vasa was preserved remarkably well.

The Absolute Icebar in Stockholm
There’s nothing quite like drinking a tasty vodka martini from a glass made of ice (resting on a bar of ice) while sitting on an ice stool. Whether it’s the right experience for your next vacation or round-the-world stop, that’s up to you to decide. If you’re in Stockholm in the summer with a few good friends, I’d recommend it as a cool place to get a few drinks!

Stockholm has a lot more to see: I enjoyed the Nationalmuseum, a moose burger, my hostel (which was a ship floating in the harbor), and a cool bar called Garlic & Shots. Let me warn you, the garlic beer is simply a light beer with two cloves of raw garlic crushed and floating on top.
Whether you go to learn about the culture, museums, original bars, or friendly denizens of Stockholm - I guarantee it will be a great experience you won’t soon forget.
Sweden is somewhere I definitely plan to return…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb