Upswing


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
February 15th 2006
Published: February 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I debated titling this entry after the movie I just spent my night watching (apart from the Russia-Slovakia hockey game), but I decided that such a move would be dangerously close to taking my blog in a direction I didn't want it to go, so I figured that I should keep it simple instead. And for those of you scoring at home, that sentence was easily two lines too long. Anyway, after a good Wednesday, I'm feeling much much better about my classes, my birthday, and the outlook of the semester in general. The upswing out of the first valley of the W came yesterday evening, when I went along with the rest of my program to a welcome dinner for international students held by the city of Stockholm. The reception was held at the City Hall, or Stadshuset, where the Nobel Prizes are given every year. We were in the most famous of halls, the Blue Hall (which is actually red brick; explain that), and they were passing out free food and free wine the entire night. Good times.
One of my friends gave me a late birthday present from her and her Swedish host family; a small ceramic cup for Swedish glogg. This isn't just any cup, though...it was maufactured by the Hoganas AB cermaics plant in souther Sweden. From this plant, many Swedes emigrated to the United States in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. These Swedes settled in Worcester, Massachusetts, which just happens to be my hometown. These Swedes started working at the Norton ceramics company in Worcester, and a few of them helped rework the company into the abrasives business, where Norton still is today. This cup is a piece of my city's ethnic history, and it's occupying a place on honor on my nightstand. Of course, it also helps that I wrote a 30-page thesis on Worcester Swedes (and the connection between Hoganas and Norton) last semester, so it's nice to get beyond the abstract sources I'd been dealing with for 4 months.
Swedish was much better today, too. I made a point to really do my homework well, and to answer questions and ask a few, too, and I'm confident that I'm back on my professor's good side. I have an enjoyable class on Swedish culture and history tomorrow, and things are looking up, as I have the weekend to wander around Gamla Stan (something I actually have yet to do), and then next weekend is the start of my trip to Germany, where I'll be in Berlin for 5 days, Nuremburg for 2, Aachen for 1.5, and Duesseldorf to round things out.
Now, Berlin probably makes sense to you, but why the other cities? I hear you cry. Here's why:
Nuremburg is a central city in the modern history of Germany, as in one visit I'll be able to see both the Parade Grounds where the Nazi Party rallies were held (and where Triumph of the Will was filmed) as well as the courthouse where the leading Nazis were brought to justice a decade later. There's also a lot of medieval stuff there, too. And my grandfather was going to be stationed there after the war for the trials (and promoted to Major), but he figured that he'd been away from his wife long enough. It'll be neat to see what he missed 😉
As for Aachen? It's out of the way in the Rhineland, dangerously close to the Belgian and Luxembourg borders. It was the capital of the Holy Roman Empire during the days of Charlemagne, and his castle, throne, and treasures are still kept there. Call me a sucker for places of historical significance, but I think that's damn cool.
Then, of course, after that, I've only got a month until my family comes to visit, which I'm sure I'll be more excited about than just about anything since last March. Let's just hope that it ends better.
Anyway, I should be getting to bed. It's dark, cold, and snowing (which should surprise no one), and I've got to catch a bus in the morning to the University.
More updates coming soon, and of course, my predictions on who will medal in Men's Ice Hockey.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb