Next stop.... Sweden


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
June 8th 2007
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I left Tracy in the Nice Airport on Friday morning at 5 am (standing patiently in the Easyjet check in line) and got on a nice KLM flight through Amsterdam to Stockholm. Pam met me outside Customs and we drove about one hour to her beautiful farmhouse in Strangnas. This is the most relaxing, comfortable and charming place... and no, it isn't just because I've been on the road for 2 weeks straight! The weather is unseasonably warm this week and it's actually wamer here than in either Paris or Nice! Pam's Swedish family is so nice. I am staying in a little guest house with Laura, Pam's mom, who visits her for one month each summer.

I enjoyed meeting many of her friends at her 40th Birthday Party yesterday. The party started about 3 pm Saturday and I only made it until 3:30 am... others made it much longer! And a REAL party it was - lots of good drinks, appetizers then a wonderful dinner under the tent with chrystal chandeliers and a toe-tapping, boot-stomping band called Long Gone Smiles Band who played country and bluegrass tunes. Lots of Hank Williams and Johnny Cash fans here in Sweden.
Frej, my Swedish dogFrej, my Swedish dogFrej, my Swedish dog

Don't tell Honey and Joey!
Pam received beautiful and thoughtful gifts from her friends, including many things for her garden. After Pam changed into her boots at midnight, I knew the party was just getting started ;-) Lots of line dancing follwed. It was a blast!! And I was so glad to be here and share the celebration.

The most interesting thing here is that is never gets dark in the summer. Last night it got dusky at midnight but then the sun seemed to be coming up again when I was heading to bed between 3:30 and 4am. It feels very strange. Thankfully I have a mask to sleep with!

Today is Sunday and as you can imagine, most everyone is moving slow. Many friends and family had breakfast and packed up their things and headed home in their campers. Others, like me, only got moving at lunchtime. Right now, we are sitting on the back deck, talking about the party, I have Pam's washing machine full of dirty clothes, the kids are swimming in the lake - it's a perfect Sunday afternoon... I wish I could stay longer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Me and Pam at the partyMe and Pam at the party
Me and Pam at the party

Welcome to the 40's Pam!


11th June 2007

Party
D.. That country side looks so beautiful! Looks like a big party and alot of fun. What a great memory. We had a great weekend in Columbia with Lauren. Have fun and be safe. Miss you bunches. B
13th June 2007

I think you should be wearing a cape Ms D ! You rock cant wait to see your pictures when you get back be asfe and stay sweet love, Love Paul da muffin man. I guess i betta start planning my 40th b-day party too

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb