Wednesday Orientation


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Norrbotten County » Luleå
January 19th 2012
Published: January 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday January 18th

WELL SHIT! I started the day out plum aweful.....

So since my phone wasnt working (still hadnt figured out the sim card) i set the alarm on my ipad which most definately DID NOT go off. I was suppose to meet Charlen at 7:15 to walk to campus together....she was going to show me a really good way to walk to campus. So i ended up waking up at 7:30....I ran downstairs to see if she was still there but no luck! So i ran and got a shower, threw on clothes, and grabbed my stuff. At this point i had two choices....i could take the bus a known 30min ride or i could walk/run to campus and risk getting lost (which on the way home from campus a few days ago got TOTALY lost for an hour). So I saw the bus comming and jumped on. Got to city center and jumped on bus 4 and ran to class. Luckily i got there at 8:30 only 15 min late. But one thing is certain you NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER be late in Sweden. So i apologized profusely and my professor seemed agreeable.

On the upside at least i made it to class! The professor understood that my alarm didnt go off and hey two other students of the 7 didnt even make it (presumably because they drank to much!) so at least i came!

My class was done around 9:45am....so originally i was going to go back to my apt and sleep but two of the girls in class invited me to go for coffee so i did so. Elsa is one of the girls and i cant remember the other one but more on that later. So we got some coffee (aka black sludge with extra caffeenie!) and we sat and talked. Mostly environmental stuff. Elsa gave me lots of information and told me there were many opportunities for internships. She explained a few options and encouraged me to join the student union whihc would help find a placement for me. She also said she would help me apply and help with the interview edicate here! YAY!

After coffee I went and joined the Engineering student Union...a mere 250 kron and lots of benefits. Then I went and grabbed some much needed lunch. I went into the B building which our phosphare recomeneded for eating and grabbed a tray. I must admit there is nothing more unsettling or upsetting than walking into a crowded lunch room where everyone is laughing and getting things with ease and you have NO CLUE how the system works. Do you get a tray or the plate? Do you get a plate for salad and an entre? Where is the butter!? What is the green stuff? What is the brown Stuff? What is that? and Where can i find a fork? Its BEYOND confusing. So i piled a plate high with salad and some green beans....safe choices 😊 because quite frankly i was so hungry i just wanted something i knew i could stomach! I blundered around and finally found a place. I enjoyed my salad and read a bit from my kindle a good relaxing lunch.

After lunch I met up with Isabel and Santi as well as two other guys from Spain who Santi invited along. We all went city center to show the two Spanish guys around and do a bit more shopping. I needed a backpack and a power cord for my computer and of course continue a search for a coat. So the five of us ventured around. By the time we were done with our errands it was about 3pm...and we were all pretty hungry....but similar to europe everything closes between lunch and dinner. We struggled as we walked around finding place after place closed. Finally we caved and stopped at a fast food place - none of us were happy- and got a quick bite. Then home we all went.

For dinner Isabel, Santi and I had romain salad, cucumber, onion, corn, with oil and vinegar over top with some potatoes as a side. Very yummy!

After that I pretty much called it a night! I WAS EXHAUSTED!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb