I'm finally here!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Kronoberg County » Växjö
August 28th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The 15 hour adventure to Sweden went very well! Eric, Amy, and I got to see Duluth from the plane and I also got to see some Northern Lights over Greenland, it was beautiful! When we got to the train station, a student from the school picked us up and brought us to the International Office. At that point, we received our itinerary for orientation this weekend and keys to our new home. I live on campus in the Lyan building. I have my own bedroom and bathroom and a big closet, it's really nice! Unfortunately, I will be paying double for rent compared to last school year, but it is a really great place to be and I am thankful for this opportunity! I share a kitchen and living room with 6 other students, but I have only met one of them so far. He is Swedish and I honestly can't pronounce his name yet and I'm too embarrassed to ask, but I'll get it eventually. He showed me how to get to the ICA (ee-kah) which is the grocery store right next to campus. I noticed there is a SUBWAY attached but I decided to buy groceries instead. I'm still getting used to the time difference... it's four in the morning here but only nine at night back home, so I'm wide awake right now. I'm not really experiencing culture shock like I thought I would. The only intimidating part of all this is rarely hearing English by passer-bys. On the plane, everything was explained in Icelandic then in English. In Copenhagen, everything in Danish. Here, Swedish all around me! I've met students speaking German, French, and other unfamiliar languages already. But lucky for me, everyone I've met knows English too so it's not so bad. I'm excited to learn Swedish throughout the year! I got homesick today when I was hanging up my pictures I brought along, so I swiftly left my room to find a phone and a computer. After making contact, I felt much much better 😊 Tomorrow I will be purchasing a bicycle and cell phone, things Sweeds do not live without. Much Love to all, Emily

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb