Everyone's a traveller!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Jönköping County » Jönköping
July 19th 2005
Published: August 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

T-23 Hours.

Doing the last chores at the office was a mildly unenthusiastic affair. I left early to return to the bank and retry my Uzbek payment. Upon arrival the clerk said "oh, it is that one, we've been looking a bit at it already". As in the daily office joke or what I wonder. I also made final preparations for paying up for my September bout to Bhutan, my bank account feels rather blasted right now, fortunately payday isn't too far away.

I then headed to the regional hospital for an appointment with a doctor to go through any vaccinations required. The waiting room was chock full and loads of young people were sitting around exchanging their anticipations of tropical beaches, long stays abroad and of course the dismay at having to take four shots at once. Just like with people who listened to synthpop, one wonders where all these people hide in their everyday lives. After a 30 minute delay I got to see the doctor and we had a look at the current vaccinations and it turned out I ended up with a prescription for anti-Malaria pills. Considering the prices I asked if it would not just be more clever to stock up at a pharmacy in Bangkok, and although I did not get an outright recommendation it was surely something I could consider. The current prices here are 230 SEK for 8 pills of Lariam (one per week), and 340 SEK for 12 Malarone (one a day). Malarone is considered to be gentler but notably more expensive. Lariam is famed for its side effects that can bolster depression and sleeplessness. Wonderful. Guess which ones I got...

After coming back home I began doing the last laundry runs and generally prepare my packing. I was soon overcome by wave of fatigue and customary pre-trip anxiety and instead found myself lying down to take a nap. Seems I always go through this stage.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 26; qc: 161; dbt: 0.1565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb