Ryan Air (for Peter)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
May 19th 2011
Published: May 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

30th April

(Apologies, last date was supposed to read ‘29th’ April but can’t work out how to change it, especially with slow internet here).

On the way to Barcelona:

(For Peter)

So on 30th April, after our night out in Paris, we took the plane to Barcelona. We were travelling with Ryan Air. How was our experience with Ryan Air you ask? Well, I’ll tell you!

First of all, we were surrounded by Spanish people as we made our way through all the little things you have to do to get to your gate – which wasn’t a bad experience of course – but I could tell immediately the Spanish had that bit of flamboyance and jolliness or passion that you assume they have. When Joey and I made it to the weapon detectors (or water detectors as I like to call them now as you’re not allowed to bring more than 100ml of liquid on the plane with you), all the staff were very friendly and were …………….. smiling! That’s right! No stern looks of intimidation here!

We were asked to take off out jewelry and belts. The Spanish lady in front of me (while I couldn’t understand what she was saying) was obviously pretended to perform a strip tease – which would totally undermine the authority of the airport and security staff but as she smiled and joked about her outfit, he smiled and took it all very lightly. If I didn’t know any better, I would have said they were friends. Joey and I put our bags through the scanner queue and headed to the other side, on the way there I beeped. I hear a voice calling me “Senorita!” I expect to be grilled, patted down, crotch grabbed, asked to walk through the damn thing again and again but no, here was a security man with a smile on his face and waves at me to come over. I felt comfortable already. On the way over he directs me to a lady. She smiles too and does a very quick pat down (but asks first) and then says “thank you”!

Joey and I leave the scene, with our bags and belongings and go to find our gate. We have some time to kill and I buy some water. When it comes time to board I forget to throw my water out as I have over 100ml. I ask he plane staff if I have to throw it out. They smile, laugh and say “no! don’t worry about it!” But how do they know I bought it there? They haven’t seen a receipt! It isn’t in one of their recommended, plastic sealed-crime-scene-looking bags! Oh well… the general nature of everyone at Ryan Air was “why would anyone want to blow our plane up when we’re so nice?! :P” and it works I guess.

Only thing is Joey had paid for more leg room and we weren’t allocated special seats. It was a “sit wherever you like” situation and it seemed nearly ever seat on the plan had about the same restricted leg room – except for the front rows that were “restricted” … hhhmmm… possibly

Advertisement



Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb