Host families and flamenco


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
September 11th 2010
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As I was without internet for most of yesterday I am doing a double post today for the one I wrote up offline yesterday!

Two nights ago we checked out a tapas bar with the students which was pretty cool. For all you MN state fair lovers they have disguised cheese curds over here as “croquetes de tres quesos.” So awesome.

Then we went and checked out a flamenco show in Sevilla in a tiny hole-in-the-wall performing center. The dancer’s are INTENSE. We got to be in the front row so we got a great view of the craziness. The guitar player and singer were also very good. It was a great performance that I really enjoyed a lot.

I moved in with my host family over here now. I live close to the University in an apartment building with a mom, her 27 year-old son named Alfredo and their tiny dog named Pachullo. She is really nice and I think caters to me a bit too much. She constantly is asking me what I want her to buy me for food and drink, but I never have anything to tell her. Also, I get fed way too much awesome food over here.

Last night we hit up some places in a plaza in Sevilla (Plaza del Sol maybe?). It was a lot of fun and there were a ton of people there.

And finally, today I went with a girl from my group to get a cell phone at one of the malls further downtown. Doing 25min walks back and forth in the blazing sun when it is between 95 and 100 degrees out is pretty draining. I still don’t know how to work the darn thing because of it’s a cheap phone so I need to ask the others in my group. Now we are going for a guided bike ride around the city as a group so I am excited to see all of the hang outs! Check out the pictures that got uploaded!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.34s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb