Camino - Love like you've never been hurt.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
June 17th 2010
Published: June 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Panorama Me, Valerie and Alberto with Pamplona in the distance

Camino Love.

I wasn't prepared for the camaraderie and friendships that form when on the camino. I thought that I'd be here alone most of the time. But quite the opposite, the first 2 weeks were like summer camp. Everyone had the energy and thrill of being here. For some, it may have taken many years. You develop a bond of having walked a piece of the way with someone.

Being here alone allows a tremendous sense of freedom. Nobody knows me or my past. They take me at face value and I take them at theirs. It allows a certain anonymity, sort of like being in chat rooms. You can be free to talk about anything without fear. People either like you or hate you, find you interesting or boring. They either stay with you for a while or move on quickly. That's life!

The issues are similar amongst the pilgrims. Normal life issues, work, personal relationships, health or lack thereof. Although this may seem quite heavy, it isn't really. Because in between the quiet times of soul searching there's the fun and laughter and the euphoria that is shared of the camino and being in Spain. And it's good in a way that people from all over the world feel the same and can understand. And nobody tells you what to do and when. They accept that you want to be alone or do something different and you'll catch up later. No worries. Nobody feels hurt by this. Why don't we do that in real life?

Many people have contributed to the fun and great memories I'll keep with me until I'm old and grey.

This is a big blog of pictures of the people who made a difference on my camino.



Additional photos below
Photos: 106, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

AmarAmar
Amar

miracle healer
Jean JacquesJean Jacques
Jean Jacques

very friendly host
Mis tres amigos de CatalanMis tres amigos de Catalan
Mis tres amigos de Catalan

from left, Alvaro, Jose, Juan
Alvaro showing me how to drink wine.Alvaro showing me how to drink wine.
Alvaro showing me how to drink wine.

Sheesh, as if I didn't know already.
Walking with the nunsWalking with the nuns
Walking with the nuns

St Francis of Assisi order
A day with Sister Anna, Sister Rita and ManuelaA day with Sister Anna, Sister Rita and Manuela
A day with Sister Anna, Sister Rita and Manuela

One of the best days on the trip. These ladies were so cool. They started walking from Lourdes and in sandals too.
Jose RamonJose Ramon
Jose Ramon

Very happy host in Lorca


18th June 2010

I really enjoyed your post from the Camino. My community blog has a section called "Medicine for the Midlife" and it's the journal entries from an American who just picked up one day and did the Camino. It's interesting. My blog is always looking for travel reviews, photos, commentaries, etc, to share. If you have the time, check it out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com, or email me at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com. Continued fun on your travels! Heather :)
21st June 2010
Great german friends

Nice Time
Holla Lynne i will remember this few days, it was a great time. Gott verdammt my english is grotten schlecht^^ God damn my english is so bad hahahaha anyway Buon Camino for everybody. Greetings from good old Germany

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 20; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb