On to Castellon


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
May 27th 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ah, Barcelona! I wish I couldn've taken photos of us arriving to Barcelona, because-from what I could see from the other person's window-it looked very impressive. I got a little scared for a second because I thought, "Oh dear! Alone in a huge airport. What shall I do??" Then, I realized "You're in Spain!" and I got all giddy. (It was like that through the rest of my trip to Castellon. I would be sitting there all chill and then, my brain would remind me that it's Spain, not some random countryside that I'm looking at. Then, I'd grin like a fool.)

My cellphone was completely useless once I left Philadelphia. I can only use it as a clock and to listen to my music. (I think I will keep the clock set at Central Standard Time so, I can check it if I'm wondering what time it is for my family and friends.) I was supposed to call home when my plane landed (1 am back home, 8 am in Barcelona), but I didn't have a phonecard and figured I could just quickly get one in Castellon. (Also, everyone made me so paranoid about the pickpockets that I didn't want to have my attention elsewhere for even a second.) It took me a second, but I found the tunnel (skywalk?) that takes you to the mini-train station (tram station?). I went over there and got a ticket from the lady at the ticket booth.

The train was already there, but I sat on the bench because it said "Sant Celoni." I thought I was supposed to wait for another train so, I sat there. It left and another came saying the exact same thing. Every time it would come and go, people would leave. No one was waiting for a different train, which made me think that this is the train I'm supposed to take. I didn't have Laura's number so, I couldn't call to ask (Oy, why didn't I think of that earlier??). More and more people came around as it came time for the next train to show up.

Some guy was sitting next to me and he looked like he knew where he was going so, I practiced in my head how to ask him if the train goes to Barcelona Sants. As the train was coming, he started to get ready to get up. I grabbed his arm and said, "Este tren va a Barcelona Sants?" (Probably has errors so, don't use this as a Spanish lesson!!) His reaction was this: O_O UM... I don't know. hahaha, he was American and didn't understand even my crappy Spanish. I laughed and he mumbled something about going somehere. He kept repeating it and quickly went on. Now that I think of it, he just have thought I was a Mexican girl that was laughing at him for not speaking Spanish. I should have said something in English. Oy.

Anyway, an older (late 30s maybe?) guy was sitting to the other side of me so, I got his attention and asked, "*points at train* Va a Barcelona Sants?" I forgot to specify that I meant THE TRAIN and not him so, he looked at me a little funny. lol. I pointed more and said, "Um.. el tren." He said, "Si. *blabhalbhabh*" It was my turn to go: O_O;, but I understood that he meant it has three stops, which Laura had already told me. I just said, "Gracias" and he went on.

I hopped on the train, happy to be so resourceful and was off to Barcelona Sants. The area by the train tracks was not very nice, but I was just happy to be on my way. There were Americans on the train, but I did not talk to them. I guess I should have asked where they were from, etc., but eh. At Barcelona Sants, I looked around then, decided to follow everyone up the escalator. Once there, I saw turnstiles and people were inserting their tickets into them to go, but I didn't know if that's where I was supposed to go. Some tourists were lined up by two workers so, I got in line.

The lady took my ticket and I said, "Quiero ir a Castellon. (I want to go to Castellon. ...Or maybe I said Necesito/I need.)" She said spoke to me clearly and in small words, though I only remember "once a doce" now. She let me through a different way than the turnstile and I went looking for 11.12. (Thank you, Spanish 101!) I found the numbers and the guy nodded that it was the area for Castellon. I went through security, but got a little confused. There were people sitting at benches by the exit AND an older couple standing in line by a booth.

I stood in line behind the couple thinking that they were waiting to ask a question or get their tickets checked. They did nothing and another lady went around them to ask a question. I couldn't hear what she said, but she went off to the side. Then, I went up but the attendants were mid-discussion and wouldn't look at me. O_o; I went to the old couple and asked the lady "Dice esperar?" (Later I realized that it probably sounded like I was asking if she said to wait, but I meant to ask if one of the attendants said to wait.) She just looked at me huffy and said, "Que? QUE?" I think that she was offended! It made me nervous so, I just sputtered out "I'm sorry!" My brain couldn't think.

She just said, "Una pregunta!" and pointed me to the people. I gave my paper to the girl and she said, "Tiene esperar." EASY, but my brain was in shock and wouldn't translate. Then, she told me that I have to wait in English so I nodded and turned away. That older lady still looked annoyed. haha. I figured that it must be because she was up front, but I had moved ahead. To appease her, I went back to my spot behind them. Once it was 11 am, they let us go through and I was glad to be getting away from that old couple! haha.

Once on the train, I just took photos of almost everything we passed. Then, I realized that maybe people wouldn't be interested in mountains? I don't know. Whenever we passed a REALLY interesting building, I fumbled to turn on my camera, but never made it in time. I wanted to take photos of all the stations we stopped at, but would forget or be distracted. (The train moves fast!) It's dorky, but I was really enamored by the blue and white train stations.

At some point, I fell asleep though we weren't far from Castellon. I woke up to the sound of someone naming our stop. I swear, I thought I heard him say Castellon. I stumbled up and grabbed my suitcase. When I got to the door, it wouldn't open. I asked a guy how to open it (in English, doh) and he replied in Spanish about the button or something. I pressed it, but by the time I got to the exit of the train, it was going again. I was thinking, "Noooo! I missed my stop!" I put my bags back and walked to the next train car.

The guy there was really young and I asked, "Habla ingles?" He said, "Yes, of course." I told him that I thought I was supposed to have gotten off at the last stop. I think I must've talked to fast (frantic!) because he kept having to ask me "What?" Once I explained myself better, he asked an older guy. He translated for me and said that I would have to take a different train in Castellon. O_o; I said, "Oh, that's where I'm going. Was our last stop not Castellon." He said, "You were supposed to get off at Orpesa?" *HAPPY SIGH* I was embarrassed, but said I thought that the previous stop was Castellon, and that I was okay. He told me that Castellon was two stops away and I was so relieved. I thanked them and then, remembered to thank the Spanish-speaking older guy in Spanish. (OMG he was so adorable and seemed really excited/happy for some reason. lol.)

When I got off the train, I followed the others that got off. We went up the escalator and when I looked up I noticed Laura. I was excited and almost fell over. (The escalator was not stair-like. It was like a moving ramp so, I felt like I would slip at any moment. *clumsy*) I was so glad to see someone I knew that I think I may have spoken too fast. Once we got outside, I met her brother Alex. Adorable! He's very likable and funny. He tried to speak English to me and I tried to speak a little Spanish, but I felt inadequate and quit. Oy. :/ I should've kept trying. Perseverance, perseverance!

Her brother drove us around and I took only two photos of Castellon. I should have taken more, but I am lame. When we got to her house, we had lunch, which was pasta, bacon, beef, etc. Very good! I thought I was hungry, but didn't finish it all. I think I was more tired than I was hungry. After a shower, I took a nap. After siesta, Laura and I went out to walk around. We went to her local grocery store and got a few snacks. I tried canned muscles for the first time and omg, so yummy. That was kinda like a snack and later, we had chicken and fries that Laura's mom had fried. Mmm Mmm Mmm.

Afterwards, we watched some tv and went to bed. I called my mom through Skype and talked to her until midnight our time (5 pm her time). I texted some friends using Skype again because I needed to tell them how beautiful the men are. haha. Today, I texted them about how good the food is. Tomorrow? Who knows!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



28th May 2009

Wow, i love the houses on the hills!! The blue and white stations are cute, too. Glad you got a shot of one. Don't worry about the spanish, you'll be fluent by the end of the trip. Especialy with Laura helping you. Glad this train ride went so well!! :)

Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb