Blog Post 4 Seville


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
June 8th 2019
Published: June 9th 2019
Edit Blog Post

"Seville" The Individual Level (Discovering New Things)

I loved the time we spent in Seville. When we were working in the gardens I did not realize how much impact one garden could have. It not only helped to provide food for people, but it also helped them spiritual and mentally. I could relate to this because I garden with my mother and I got the same feelings of joy and peace when I was gardening. I felt accomplished after we finished weeding the gardens because I knew how much joy those kids were going to have when they planted the plants. I was also amazed by the cathedral in Seville. I think it is amazing that so much history is in one building and people are living right next to it. I felt like I was almost walking back in time when going through the cathedral because all of that history was apart of how America was made. I also thought it was funny that they aren’t positive if the statue really contains the bones of Christopher Columbus as shown in the picture. In the insight guides on page 193 it states that Christopher Columbus’s tomb was taken from Seville to Santo Domingo cathedral in 1544 and was returned over three centuries later. It is believed that there was a mix up and the bones are actually those of his son, Diego.



The Relational Level (The Party Continues)

When walking around Seville at night everything seemed to come to life. We sat down and watched three siblings perform together. We went over to talk to them and they said they work their days jobs and then at night when the people come out they come out to entertain them. They said the party doesn’t start till the sun goes down. This is very different from back home because usually the later it gets the more people tend to go inside. In the culture smart book, on page 58, it states that the Spaniards like to live in the moment. It also says that during the weekend many nights stretch into the morning which is their fiesta time. We also took notice that most places opened at 9:30pm and stayed open until 2:00am which isn’t like the restaurants in the United States. Seville is beautiful at night as seen in the picture.



The Social Level (Sexism)

When eating at a restaurant the waiter that was serving us because very touchy with some of the females. To some people that may seem like someone who is trying to be friendly, but to others it may just be uncomfortable. For me is was kind of uncomfortable to have a complete stranger touch me and my friends. This can be seen as women being sexualized. I saw another example of women being sexualized when walking through a store. In the store there was an apron that had a half dressed woman on it, but there was no one like that with a man on it. I think that women are not only being over sexualized in Spain, but also all over the world. I believe that we all need to respect one another and our bodies.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb