Blog Post 2 Tarragona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
May 31st 2019
Published: May 31st 2019
Edit Blog Post

The History Right Under Our Noses




"Time Traveling" THE INDIVIDUAL LEVEL

I have lived near Gettysburg for most of my life, so I thought I knew what the remains of history looked like, but when we went to Tarragona I was absolutely stunned. I have never seen anything that could compare to that. By seeing the remains and what life looked like thousands of years ago made me appreciate what we have today. I also wish they could rebuild the circus and the amphitheater so we could spend a day in their lives. I also never realized how much history is still left in our world, but we don’t take the time to realize it and appreciate it.



"Not Afraid" THE RELATIONAL LEVEL

When we were touring the remains, I was able to talk to a child when going to the bathroom. It was a good experience to talk to a Spanish child because I am usually talking to a Spanish adult. I noticed that the Spanish child is more outgoing and willing to talk to an adult compared to the American child who is taught stranger danger and don’t talk to adults alone. I also noticed that there were a lot of students when walking on the beach and talking to a few when going to get ice cream. The insight guide states that a lot of places give students discounts when touring. I noticed that this is different in the united states because not a lot of discounts are given to students.



"Out with the old In with the new" THE SOCIAL LEVEL

When going through the ruins I realized that a lot of the new inhabitants have covered up that part of history to make way for new housing. The culture smart book says that Romans constructed marvelous roads and architecture. I was a little taken back by the people who live right next to this huge part of history and don’t seemed astonished by it. I thought it was crazy to believe that there are apartment buildings over the archways of the old circus. I think it would be beneficial to the economy if maybe they tried to restore some of the history instead of constantly building on it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 7; qc: 21; dbt: 0.018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb