Valencia


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
July 8th 2006
Published: July 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Waiting for the PopeWaiting for the PopeWaiting for the Pope

Walking through this with my backpack on was not fun...
I am a bit behind on my blog. I am working hard to catch up but I just posted new pictures on previous blog entries so you all can enjoy those until I get caught up.

When I arrived in Valencia there were thousands of people waiting on the side of the street. I figured the Pope was going to make an appearence. I decided to find the Purple Nest hostel. I really lucked out with this hostel. It was beautiful, clean and brand new. I droppped off my stuff and headed for the supermarket. After spending a couple days in a hostel I had quickly caught on to the concept of cooking your own food.

After shopping there were still people in the streets so I decided to put muy groceries down and wait a couple minutes to see if I could catch a glimpse of the Pope. I waited less then 5 minutes, and sure enough the crowd started to cheer and the Pope made his way through the street. It was one of those amazing moments that I will never forget.

I got back to the hostel and started to prepare a Greek Salad and
The PopeThe PopeThe Pope

He was soooo close to me and all smiles.
pasta. I met Steve and Diane from Northern Arizona University. They had just graduated and would be spending about a month in Spain. After hanging out in the common area for a while we realized that we were in the same bunk room.

The next day Steve, Diane and I headed for the beach. We shopped along the beach, market, rented 3 lawn chairs and swam in the water. It was really hot but so relaxing. Afterwards, we walked down the boardwalk to drink Sangria. The Sangria was amazing!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

City SquareCity Square
City Square

Diane and I.
Look Closely...Look Closely...
Look Closely...

This guy was sleeping in a huge pile of clothes he was also selling... GROSS!!
Beach MarketBeach Market
Beach Market

Steve found himself a pair of pants.
Sangria on the beachSangria on the beach
Sangria on the beach

Steve and Diane


Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb