Surprising Valencia!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
November 10th 2007
Published: November 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What a warm atmosphere!

What a beautiful city!

Ok, I'm not here to talk about cities. My thing of the moment is open landscapes, fields, mountains, little villages... But how can I resist the charms of Valencia? Its surprisingly glamorous old town and its fabulous modern complexes!

I fell in love with this place. Almost at first sight. It took me a little while to tune in, to let the images sink my pupils. The huge squares. The ancient buildings so well looked after. Then I felt the warmth, the jolly pace people seem to move at - not too slowly though absolutely not in a hurry either. An amazing old market with juicy mediterranean and African fruit, reasonably priced. A urban haven! With beaches where I spent a whole afternoon sunbathing: in the middle of November.

There's so much to find out. Who's designed the Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias? I still have no clue, but my eyes can't get enough of it! A modern Gaudi of astronomical proportions. Definitely Gaudi's legacy, from the broken tiles to the organic shapes. (I know I should do a research on the topic before writing about it, but must I? Doubt is the soul's food, so I guess I can give you a bit of hunger too) Check it out.

A flamenco eve was ok, considering this is not a traditionally flamenco area. Good music and attractive visual.

The accommodation was grand! A brand new hostel right in the heart of the old town. Friendly, clean and cheap, with free internet access and a large comfy eating room with plasma TV.

I am absolutely impressed. Viva Valencia!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



14th November 2007

Ey! they should hire you at the Valencian tourist board matey! You are doing their job for them!! hehehe It looks nice specially from here with cold ears brrrrrr....
15th November 2007

The buildings of Valencia
Hey Jose, It looks and sounds like you are having a beautiful time. From looking at your pix of Valencia, I can tell you that many of those modern buildings were designed by Calatrava, a extremely innovative and brilliant architect of our time. I'm looking forward to your next adventure, tchau!
15th November 2007

Valencia is beautiful
Someone who agrees with me about Valencia! Just next to the Plaza de la Reina was where I went to a Spanish language school for two weeks. Such a great place. Especially Calle Caballeros (or however you spell it!) where there's quite a few bars (near the Plaza de la Virgen I think) Oh and Santiago Calatrava designed the City of Arts and Sciences, see the following link for some beautiful pictures - http://www.spanish-living.com/regional/Valencia_city-of-arts-and-science.php Hasta luego! John
28th November 2007

Saudades...
Meu brother... que lindas as fotos... está feliz por ai... ah se não estiver. Por aqui tudo bem, bastante trabalho como sempre... Estou com saudades!! beijão

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb