Goodbye England; Spain, here I come!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Region of Murcia » Hacienda Riquelme
September 16th 2013
Published: September 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm sold on the British rail system as it has certainly looked after me very well. In the past we've always hired a car but, while driving in the UK doesn't bother me, without someone in the passenger seat to chat to it's not so much fun. So, as I'm on my lonesome this time, the train is definitely the way to go. Easy to book on the Internet from anywhere and, as long as you know how to use the British Rail System, it does not have to be expensive as it can be if you aren't aware of the pitfalls. And the trains are clean, run on time, comfortable and you can book your seats free of charge - I'm pretty impressed.

After catching a train from Northallerton to Leeds, I then caught a bus to Leeds Bradford International and a Jet2 plane to Murcia in Spain where my darling sister Charlotte was waiting to greet me. A short 20 minutes drive and we were at Charlotte & John's apartment at Hacienda Riquelme although John is in the UK at the moment doing some work for his sister in Syston. So it's just the two of us.
Michelle & Charlotte on the balcony, overlooking some of the other apartmentsMichelle & Charlotte on the balcony, overlooking some of the other apartmentsMichelle & Charlotte on the balcony, overlooking some of the other apartments

After taking this photo I dropped my camera on the tiles in the balcony - disaster!

On Tuesday morning Charlotte - known to everyone here as Charlie - had a rehearsal with her acappella quarter "Viva". The other girls, Jo, Babs & Lyn arrived at the community and games room in the Hacienda here at Riquelma. I enjoyed listening as they practised singing "Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy", "California Dreaming", "Feelin' Groovy", "Moon Dance", "Nine to Five", "If You Love Me", "When I Just Wear A Smile" & "Candyman". I never realised that there was so much to singing before attending this rehearsal.

The five of us had lunch at the restaurant on the first floor of the Hacienda which gave me the opportunity to get to know Jo, Babs & Lyn a bit. From there Charlotte & I went to a shopping centre at La Zenia; I had to buy a new camera since I'd dropped my lovely camera which broke on the tiles. What a bummer but my own stupid fault.

Wednesday was Charlotte's Writers' Group which took place in a community room at the Olympia Bar & Hotel in Las Palmeros and I tagged along. It was very interesting. Lisa was the Chair of the group and gave some excellent advice to the participants who took turns in reading out their short stories and poems, many on the theme of Autumn. All participants gave their opinions on the stories and poems; there was some very helpful constructive criticism given. Charlotte introduced me to the group members and Lisa asked me to give a short talk to the group on my book published in 2006. Very interesting; I met some very nice people and really enjoyed the experience.

Later I went to Charlotte's hairdresser at Villa Martin, a job desperately needed. Michelle (the hairdresser) did a wonderful job, giving me a super-duper cut all ready for my big birthday gig next month!

It was back with Charlotte on Thursday to take part in another singing group she belongs to called "Spangles", a Female Barbershop Harmony Chorus. The rehearsal was at Las Claras Community Centre on the Mar Menor. I joined in with the breathing excercises, singing "The Grand Old Duke of York" with the 26 girls there. Not being much of a singer that was enough for me so for the rest of the time I just listened and learnt! Gail, the Musical Director and Liz the assistant MD lead everyone through renditions of "Silent Night", "Jingle Bell Rock" & "Walking in a Winter Wonderland" in readiness for Christmas as well as "Give Them a Show They Can't Forget", "You Don't Know Me" & "We Go Together". The singers were a vibrant and enthusiastic group, a great inspiration and sounded beautiful. It made me think that maybe I should consider joining a choir once I get home!

Once the rehearsal was over Charlotte & I went to Playa Los Narejos which is an inlet of the Mediterranean. After a drink at a beachside bar we 'picnicked' on the beach and spent simply ages 'chewing the fat' on the subject of our childhood. After all that a walk was called for!

Dinner calls, must away!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Everyone has a chance to read their story or poemEveryone has a chance to read their story or poem
Everyone has a chance to read their story or poem

This meeting had the theme of Autumn
La Zenia shopping centre car parkLa Zenia shopping centre car park
La Zenia shopping centre car park

Shopping trolley sculpture which helps you to remember where your car is parked!
Michelle sporting a new haircut!Michelle sporting a new haircut!
Michelle sporting a new haircut!

Outside the block which houses Charlotte's apartment
Charlotte & John's apartmentCharlotte & John's apartment
Charlotte & John's apartment

On the second floor


22nd September 2013

Your book published in 2006? Please tell me more!
22nd September 2013

My book
"Margaret Holmes: The life & times of an Australian peace campaigner" published by New Holland. M :)
23rd September 2013

Hi Michelle, The book sounds wonderful. Where can I buy a copy?
23rd September 2013

My book
...is now out of print but your local library could possibly have a copy. Let me know if you can't get it. M
23rd September 2013

Thanks, Michelle. I'll check my library.

Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb