Day 3 - A Bit Longer Than Projected


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Zizur Mayor
September 28th 2012
Published: October 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Route: Aquerreta -Zariquiegui

Today a bit longer (30 km approx.) than I have planned for my Camino, which is 25 km/day, in about 7.30 hours. A long day that took me through Pamplona where I was able to get a prepaid mobile line and get money out of cash machine. The mobile will keep me in touch with the outside world and will keep me in touch with the family.

First day that I did not made reservations in a hotel. Somewhat later in the day in the middle of nowhere I found a "albergue" where I will be sleeping in a community room of about 8 people (bunkbed). That will keep me humble...

Pamplona is nice, but kind of strange after 2 days in the woods. Will try to make reservations again for tomorrow. Makes me feel a bit more secure.

The place I am right now is called Zariquiegui rather difficult to pronounce and as I said, in the middle of nowhere.

Added note: the initial hours and untill Pamplona I walked with Paul Lynn. During these hours we ran into a somewhat older German lady in distress. She complained that she had
PamplonaPamplonaPamplona

Running with the bulls? Very little space to get away...
stomage problems and that strength was failing her. We walked with her for some time untill we arrived at a cafe where we had a coffee. The lady did hardly speak another language than German. This is the time that I am greatful that I was raised in Holland and was taught to speak different languages. The lady indicated me that she would like to order a taxi to be taken to a German run albergue in Pamplona. I translated her request to the owner of the cafe, who called the taxi.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb