PAMPLONA!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Pamplona
June 23rd 2013
Published: June 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So much has transpired. To try to share the past two days is overwhelming! I have only just begun, but I understand that each persons Camino is there own, and you have to live it yourslef. So perhaps I cannot tell you so much about the Camino, but I can share some of MYCAMINO and of course share pictures. Pictures are terrribly difficult to download and edit so you will get them scrampled, untitled, and unedited for now. I just have the time and in the evening food and sleep consumer much of my time.

This evening I went to 7:30 mass at St. Agustine Cathedral - very near the BIG IMPORTANTE catherdral. It is pretty large and impressive itslef. There were maybe 20 people there - all but maybe one much older than I. I remember a bit of the flow of Catholic mass so I kinda follow though I don't understand a word. What struck me was as I left the church the streets of Pamplona were coming alive again - remember Spanish siesta in the afternoon- and it struck me that I walk from a holy sanctuary to a street full of people and bars - it just seemed strange. Also it strung me that in a huge masoleum of a church I could still hear the muffled noise of the streets outside.

The walk today was good. The weather was mostly sunny withh a few sprinles. There were fewer hills - THANK THE LORD! And good company. Many of us have become acquainted the past three days in some wy. There seems to be thiose faces I see every night. We are typically the ones who stay in the large commuity hostels. However there are also those I seem to see at leasst once a day somewhere on the road. I have made friends from Australia,Denmark, England, Korea, Germany, Bulgaria, several states in the US and more. Even we don't speak the same language we share an Hola, Buenos Dias and Buen Camion and a smile!

Today the Dutch girl, my bunk mate for the night, offered to wash my shirt with her laundry, I shared my wine with a couple from the other Washington (I met them in Bayonne, France) and a girl from Hungry, I separated from my Aussie friend that I met on the train from Irun and whom I have walked with the past two days, and I shared a needle and thread from my Brit roommate. We all come together and touch each other in unique and beautiful ways. And we often share our stories - our why we are walking the Camino. Many are searching like me. Often I get to share my faith and walk with God and I see many nob and many really not care. But we are all friends bound together by the Camino.

Blessings abound every day though. Today - day 3 - I am very aware of a great blessing that has been given me. As I walk around the hostel and see and talk to people I have met and observe people I have yet to meet I see a myriad of road weary people. The 17 year old girls from the US somewhere - one can barely walk and you can see the other is hurting. All the people who have blisters. The gentleman with his food all taped up. The young lady with her knee bandaged. There are many more. And I am blessed as I have no blisters, i have no wounds, I am sore yes, but nothing unbearable. I ran part of the Camino today. I was amazed I could do it! So many are younger than me but yet here are am feeling well and ready to continue - well maybe no over the Pyrenees again!

I will leave you with this and some pictures.

....When the time comes, the Holy Spirit will teach you what you should say. Luke 12:12

Advertisement



25th June 2013

way to go
glad to see your having a good time... enjoy drink enjoy the countryside and the company... stay on the bus

Tot: 0.341s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb