Chillin´ with the Bulls


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Pamplona
July 14th 2007
Published: July 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bull acrobatics showBull acrobatics showBull acrobatics show

Aren´t I looking oh so traditional in my red handkerchief for San Firmine? (the traditional colours are white and red)
I´m not sure the experience gets any more Spanish than this! Yesterday I spent the day in Pamplona for Fiestas de San Fermin. We made it there a little too late (9am) so we missed the actual bulls running through the streets. But the guy I live with went last weekend and he said there´s so many people that you can´t actually see it, you had to watch it on big tv screens. Plus it only lasts like 2 seconds when they run by, so my heart was broken about missing it. But we were able to see some other really cool and not so cool but cultural stuff. We went to what they called "cowboy acrobatics show", which was really people running around with what I think were really young bulls cause they weren´t too big yet. But they would stand in the arena, call the bull on and try a deak it out (is that word? - deak? YOu know, like fake the bull out). And then some of them would would do flips over the bull as it came charging. It was really quite entertaining. Got some good videos. And although the bulls or whatever they were were
Emerson and I at the bull showEmerson and I at the bull showEmerson and I at the bull show

We liked this show...the people did crazy flips and jumps over the bulls as they charged them....plus they didn´t kill the bulls in this one
small, they sill packed a punch. One girl wasn´t quick enough so as she turned out of the way, the bull caught her with its horn and pinned her down and then tried to step all over her. She tried again a second time and same thing, but this time it nailed her again while she was getting up. She was limping by the end of the show....I think I´ve safely eliminated that as a futrue career.

Then the afternoon was spent pretty much just walking around town. I can´t believe the number of people they have there! And all ages too. At the closing ceremonies at midnight you had everyone from ages less that a year to well into there 90s out and celebrating the closing of what I´m sure was a fun 2 weeks. They have brass bands parading all over town and it was just fun to watch and listen, have lunch in the park.

Also went to see a bull fighting show. I can say I´ve done it but don´t think you could pay me to see it again. Maybe this is just me being a closed minded Canadian, but I don´t see the
The result of the bull fightThe result of the bull fightThe result of the bull fight

This is why I had to go buy a clean dry shirt....ew!
entertainment of torturing an animal to death. Apparently they eat the bull when they´re done, but still seems like cheap entertainment to me. But, oh well, I´ve seen it and can cross it off my life´s to do list. The whole show was a little uncomfortable. Plus we were in a roudy section of the arena and apparently the cool thing to do is throw food and sangria all over the place. So by the end of the show, my hair was rock hard from the sangria and I was covered in food. I left a little bit cranky. Oh well, I know for next time. So we went and "showered" in a fountain and i bought a new dry shirt. The whole show recked my plans for sleeping though. We were leaving the next morning at 9am so we were just going to sleep in the park after an amazing fireworks show, but my jacket was also soaked, so that plan was out. So it was a pretty long night when I couldn´t sleep cause I was so cold. But I¨m back now and have had a shower and warm food in me, so life is good again. All in all, another great weekend with my new friend Emerson. Except I lost my cell phone. But at least not my keys this time!

And now I have some sobering news, but I would like to share it with everyone regardless. This past week, I found out that one of my friends from back home was killed in a car accident. Its pretty disturbing considering how young he was....and how unavoidable the situation could have been. The driver had been drinking and my friend Chris didn´t have his seatbelt on. So please, to all of you I know, and those who you know, pass this on and remember to make safe decisions. And that means wear your seatbelt....even if its just in town a block away. They were only driving 50 when they had their accident (I´m looking at you dad). But anyway, I just wanted to give a shout out to my good pal Chris who I´ve known since I was 4. My sis sent me a link to his facebook sight and its really quite beautiful to see all the good things everyone had to say about him. I don´t think I´ve ever met anyone who hasn´t liked him. He will be sadly missed but always remembered. Thanks for the link Mon, and if you could all keep him, his family and friends in your prayers, I would greatly appreciate it. When I first found out I felt like I shouldn´t be here anymore, shouldn´t be having any fun. Then I realized that´s so not what he would want so I cooked supper for my 2 guys here the other night and one of them brought over a bottle of some cider thing so we had some of that in his memory. He´s now my inspiration to live life to its fullest. I guess its true what they say....only the good die young.

RIP Chris. See you some day.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb