Viana -Logroño


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » La Rioja » Logroño
May 31st 2016
Published: June 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

80 yr old Pilgrim from Italy 80 yr old Pilgrim from Italy 80 yr old Pilgrim from Italy

He stopped for a cafe' Leche and smoke.
So back to Viana I went to Albergue Izar to spend Monday night . The lady that owned it said she no longer had my booking forgetting I booked ahead . I sucked air hard for a moment when she upgraded me to a private room ..sweeet! . Later I went down to ask her about restaurants . She jestered for me to sit then she made me dinner.Nice! Savory green peas, Chirezos, fried eggs toast coffee and yogurt ..yum
Next morning I left early ,heading for Logrono 8 miles to my next bed. Beautiful walk ,flat mostly . Before leaving Viana I stopped for cafe leche and a bagette .I met this 80 yr old Italian guy smoking a cigarette and drinking coffee . He started in St Jean crossed the Pyrenees and was headed for Santiago. This guy had energy and a 20 lb backpack. Amazing .
Leaving Viana at 7:30 I limped along fairly well . Knee wasnt getting better but not horrible. I passed many vineyards , Many Pilgrims passed me ..actually all that were going to pass me did , I think ,as I couldn't see any behind or in front . Actually the only thing I saw in front of me was a huge thunderstorm. Seeing this storm, I thanked god for giving me a tree to hide under (wink wink).
I walked on , the storm decided to turn away from me .
I made it to Logroño around 12:30 . Pretty certain this would be my last stop . My knee wasnt going to get me much further . I found a little later it certainly wasn't. But thats story to come soon



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Serious &Wise Peregrino Serious &Wise Peregrino
Serious &Wise Peregrino

Getting ready to leave Viana


1st June 2016

Knees - useful, or not
Really feeling your pain re the knee. Nine years of a bum knee that doesn't get better except when using a stationary bike to build muscle around the bone. But it's been a while since i could do even that. I admire you so much for your courage in walking alone for any length of time, for your adventurous spirit, for your life -- for everything you have seen and accomplished. This is just one little segue on your journey. Perhaps you'll walk the Camino again. If you want to, I have no doubt you'll find a way. I love you Uncle Joe. Rest, relax and remember these beautiful days. And thanks for sharing them with me and the world here on your blog. Love, Micky
2nd June 2016

Bees Knees
It seems thier all abuzz .my fault . Thanks Micky I really appreciate what you say here. I try to keep it mixed up some . I think I will sit tight a bit a enjoy some down time ..love you
5th June 2016

Sorry to hear about your knee!
I hope you are able to take a break for a few days and then continue.
8th June 2016

Viana -Logrono
Thanks Mary . Not to be , had other leg complications so went home :(
14th June 2016

me siento orgulloso de ustedes
Hey Mr. Joe....Okay. So the subject line should say, 'I am proud of you'....sure hope it does! LOL We are proud of you and have enjoyed your posts and pictures! What you did was nothing less than victorious because you stepped out and DID it! Hope one day we can say the same...We wish you a wonderful retirement with your sweet family...let's get together sometime! take care of yourself...Steve & Jackie Morris
20th June 2016

Thank You Steve and Jackie!
I appreciate that , It was a hell of a lot of fun and equally alot of pain but that was mostly plan for. Except for to the broken calf muscle that now has me home and laid up for 6 weeks . Steve ,,, I will stop by and say "Hi" once I'm up and moving. Had dinner at Noel & Cherys last week , home made Sicilian Pizza . It Rocked! Thanks Again :)
30th June 2016

I've been waiting for the story to come soon...
it's been a month. I hope you are all right.
4th July 2016

Hang tight
I'm in the middle of getting my left calf and Knee treated for considerable damage . Its not over yet so I am sitting tight until I get my knee drained. I will be on crutches for a month once drained. I will update my Blog soon . Thanks for the nudge :)

Tot: 0.374s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb