Palas de Rei to Arzua


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia
October 1st 2017
Published: October 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

We left the albergue as a group of 5; Raresh, Nathan, Jude, Mariano, and myself. Silvia and her 3 stayed a while later and I didn't see them again until Arzua where Silvia had made reservations for them, Raresh and I at the Albergue Ultreia. When the 5 of us stopped for breakfast at the Taberna Casanova, in Casanova, Raresh was deep in conversations when I was ready to go, so I left them to catch up. They never did. I walked alone from there to the albergue in Arzua, about 22 kilometers, arriving in Arzua around 3:30. I made 3 rest stops along the way plus one stop for lunch at the Cafeteria El Aleman just outside of Boente. I ordered vegetable soup, bread, a piece of cake, and a Coke. I guess I should have asked for prices ahead of time, because the bill came to 8.70 euros, what I'd usually pay for dinner. The soup and cake were delicious though.

I arrived at the albergue about an hour or more ahead of Raresh! I guess I was walking kind of fast. After the usual routine, and a cup of my instant coffee with La Lechera (an ultrapasteurized milk with sugar), everyone else started showing up. We ended up having a room for the 8 of us, but of course we still to use communal bathrooms. The albergue is quite modern and has its own bar, free Wi-Fi, a tiny kitchen, and a small patio. I went to explore the area while everyone else settled in. I found out that being Sunday that only one small supermarket was open and it was over half a kilometer away! After I returned and gave everyone the lowdown, and we checked the prices at the Bar, we decided to go back down to the supermarket and get dinner to prepare in the albergue. We ended up making spaghetti with sauce and meatballs, with a small salad. I prepared the spaghetti while Raresh and the 2 guys went to mass at the local church. Everyone complimented me on my spaghetti.

Tomorrow we will try one more long day of 29 kilometers to Lavacolla so we will only have 10 kilometers left to Santiago on Tuesday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.505s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.2737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb