Peanut fights


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
October 8th 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The friendly hospitalero was concerned about me, and offered to let me stay another night. I really appreciated the offer but I felt like walking. It was a little bit frustrating that the hospitaleros hadn’t been nicer to Ezra when he was sick. I felt a little bit guilty for accusing the Ezra of self induced sickness, now that I knew all the pain he’d gone through.

So I walked along slowly with my patient sister and her patient boyfriend. I was still feeling quite weak, I hadn’t eaten in 2 days or so, and walking uphills gave me a headspin. It was really comforting to have Kellie and Ezra with me. The race was effectively over because I think we’d all decided that it was better to stick together.

I felt that I could eat and so we stopped at a supermarket and bought tacos and peanuts. Mmmm, tacos. Kellie was overjoyed.

We took our time and arrived quite late to the albergue. All my pilgrim friends were there - AhYoung, Franca, Kevin, Danish boys and Lou. Ah Young cooked a really nice traditional Korean pancake type thing and shared it with me. The Danish boys cooked a kilo of potatoes. They eat so bloody much! I had some of their food too. Being sick really makes you appreciate food. From then on I vowed to eat more healthily. I still couldn’t stomach alcohol but I stayed up with Kellie, August, Ezra, Frederick, Lou, Kevin and some others while they drank, until once again we were told off and sent to bed. We were starting to get the impression that maybe we weren’t the most well behaved pilgrims on the camino.

The refuge was a big hall with heaps of beds, similar to Roncesvalles. We had a bag of peanuts that we’d been eating and Kellie though it was hilarious to throw them at people when they were sleeping, especially the Danish boys. She just wasn’t ready to go to sleep yet. I understood her pain.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb