Madrid Vision


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 30th 2006
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I told my parents to call me when they got up. I was ready to go at 11:30 and they still hadn’t called! What is goin on? They really think they on vacation! Hahaha. I got there and my mom thought it was necessary to tell me that they had been cuddling for an hour. Cute, but not really!

I had to wait for them to finish packing for Barcelona and then they were finally ready to go. We went to check out the other hotel. If they were going to be paying almost 30 euro more, they wanted to make sure it was worth the extra money. When we got there, the guy at the desk said that the maids were still cleaning, so there was no rooms available for us to see. He told us we could come back after lunch and one should be ready.

We walked down the street and found a little café to eat at. There was only one waiter, and he was really rude! Everyone was shocked by his behavior. I understand that since he’s the only one that he has to hurry, but dang. He was out of control. I, nor any of the other customers, appreciated it. While we were waiting, we met a nice couple. They were originally from Holland, but they are living in Spain now. Sounds like me and my hubby! Whoever that may be.

We went back to the hotel to check out the room, but they never ended up showing us one. He showed my dad the pictures on the website, but it was the same stuff that my mom had already seen. Needless to say, they weren’t impressed and said they were going to come back later and cancel. I told them that Spanish people always give a reason. My dad is a good little liar! He planned to tell them that we were going to stay in Barcelona. Quick on his little feet. Watch out now!

We needed drinks for later, so we went to the grocery store. I know you might not think so, but that is also a cultural experience. Mother walked around in awe. It’s funny to see other people’s faces the first time they experience something. I love it. We were walking in the wine isle, and my mom was trying to find something sweet. While she talked with some German, my dad and I saw some guy steal something! He lifted up his shirt and just stuck two bottles down his pants. When he put his shirt back down, you couldn’t even notice. I wonder if he got caught!

I don’t know how I avoided it for so long, but I finally made it on Madrid Vision. That is an excellent little bus ride. I got to see a lot of new things, but also learn facts about things I see everyday. It was really interesting. In line we met the cutest couples. I hope I’m that cute when I’m old. Then we all had to sit next to each other on the bus. It was like we were in third grade again! Oh, and the monument that Fadel and I were looking for yesterday, we found on my bus tour. I will be making another trip out there. It’s gorgeous.

Dad canceled the other hotel right when we got back. Vonnie had been deprived of food for a while, so I said it was dinner time. We went to Plaza Mayor and picked a restaurant. My parents loved how everywhere was so accommodating. There were menus in Spanish, English, and French. They actually knew what they were looking at. We tried some new things. That’s one reason I love Spain. I can experiment and somehow I end up loving whatever it is I get. Love that food.

My parents were done, so I called Fadel to see if he wanted to hang out with me, but hi allergies were back, so he had to stay in. Can we get this boy some medicine please? I texted Lavoie earlier to see if she wanted to see a movie with me, but she didn’t text me back til after dinner, and it was a little late then, so I just ended up going to check my mail at the internet café and then headed back home.

I met Concha on the way in and she was trippin out. The new girl had moved in and she was M.I.A. I don’t know how Concha thought she was going to find her. I helped her look for about five minutes, but we couldn’t split up because I had no idea what this girl looked for, so Concha sent me home.

I came home and packed for real. I went through everything I had. Every drawer, the closet, my suitcases, everything. I put as much as I could away and then packed for Barcelona. When Concha found Alexis, she brought her in to meet me. She seems nice enough. She goes to UF, is studying Finance and doesn’t know very much Spanish. Hahah. She’s really pretty though. I wish I was staying longer and could get to know her. *sigh* Maybe next time.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb