Bienvenidos a mis padres


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 28th 2006
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had to wake up mad early to get my parents from the airport. Of course, I never give myself enough time to get anywhere, so I was running late. I was gonna feel bad if they got there and I wasn’t there to pick them up, so I was running. Running and sweating. Oh Lord Yvonne.

So I made my way to the airport. I was going to take the bus, but I couldn’t remember what bus to take to which terminal and I actually had no idea where their plane was even coming in. As I was walking from the metro I asked a lady wearing a uniform where my parents would be coming in. She guessed terminal one and that’s where I went.

Of course there were two places where people could get picked up, so I had to guess. I’m a lucky guesser. I called my dad to see where they were, and they were still going through customs. Phew, I’m a lucky girl. They arrived and they were hungry. We ate at the little breakfast buffet and then headed home.

I couldn’t remember what time to hotel allowed you to check in, so we went back to my house. We dropped off all their luggage and I thought we were gonna get out, but Santiago and Concha came home and it was all over. You know they wanted to talk to my parents. Of course they don’t speak the same language, so I had to translate. It was way too early for all that! 9a.m. Are you serious?

We finally got out of the house with the condition of coming back for lunch. I took my parents out to the Rastro. I know they were tired, but you can’t sleep right when you get to Spain. I had to make them do something cultural. So I took them shopping. We got souvenirs and shopped until mother dropped. Poor thing. She was in pain.

So we went back to Concha’s for lunch. You know Concha. She was talking non-stop and there I was having to translate again. My parents were a little upset with me because Concha would be going on and on, and I would only say one sentence. I had to explain to them later that she just repeats herself a lot, or she doesn’t really say anything. It was an interesting time though.

After lunch it was time for little Alla to leave. ¡Qué triste! I took her to the metro and dropped her off. It was so funny because these two guys saw us trying to carry her luggage and they helped us down the stairs. And there she went…she was off. Goodbye my friend.

So I went back to the piso to get my parents so they could take a little nap and get a break from Concha. Well, when I left with Alla, I knew I would only be gone a minute, so I didn’t even think about keys or my cell. I got back and I couldn’t get in. No big deal, I’ve been locked out before. I pushed the call button. It didn’t work. I thought maybe I had forgotten how to do it. I stood out there for 10 or fifteen minutes trying to figure it out. I was standing in the sun, so I relocated in the shade so I could think and try to do it again. A girl walked out and I tried to rush to the door. I guess I could have asked her to hold the door, but the sun was starting to get to me. Then I saw these guys getting out of the car and I asked them if they lived there. They said no, but they were trying to get inside as well. They couldn’t get the bell to ring either! Then the girl who was meeting them came and she tried. Apparently the bell was broken. Not good news. I didn’t have any means of communication. They called their friend who opened the door, so I got through the first door, but still had to get through the second door. I had already been outside for a good 25 minutes and it was mad hot. Good thing I took a shower this morning! So I waited outside for another 20 minutes before some guy came to the door. He didn’t live there either, but he had a cell phone. I finally made it. I rang the doorbell and I was through! Everyone thought I had gone with Alla to the airport.

I had to sit and take a rest because I was mad tired and thirsty. Madrid gets hot! You could tell my parents were worn out. It looked like all four of them had been nodding. I rescued them and took them back to the hotel. Everyone took a little nap. Since Concha had stuffed us full of food, we weren’t too hungry for dinner, but we figured we should eat something so I decided to put another cultural experience under their belt. I took them to get churros con chocolate. I had no idea how to pay, but I attempted to use my Spanish and got it done. We did a little walking and then it was time to call it a night.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb