What's up in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
March 13th 2006
Published: May 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's been awhile since I have actually had the time to sit down, reflect on what has happened,
and update everyone on the events over here. Well, that's pretty much it--everything has been getting extremely busy and all this is passing right by my eyes too quickly.

The last I left off I was visiting Toledo for the day. Since then (thanks to my agenda), I went to
the first futbol (soccer) game: Atletico de Madrid vs. Malaga winning with a score of 5-0 and
so I left happy. It was still winter and had been sprinkling so I prepared for the cold with 7
layers and thankfully I did so.

The university threw a welcome party and seemed to have more go-ers than last semester and was definitely worth going in for a few. Later, a couple of us chose to leave and go somewhere else. Bar-hopping is how we do it here in Madrid.

Ria came to visit from Boston for her spring break where I took her to El Rastro, a flea
market that happens every Sunday morning/afternoon for some goods and later roamed
around the Buen Retiro Park, practicing our exercises for when we retire and showing
demonstrations to each other, seeing fake cartoon characters making balloon figures for the
children, and then we went off to the city center to have some chocolate & churros, and waffles with chocolate. Took her to Camilla's 21st bday where we dined in the Plaza Mayor and followed through with the week as I still had classes.

Weekend outings, doner kebaps, shopping and such. I saw Jack Johnson at La Cubierta along with ALO (Animal Liberation Orchestra) and Matt Costa. Although sitting next to 2 girls that had blocked the passageway to the stairs causing unnecessary trouble, the concert was good. It was held down south of Madrid in Leganes where they also hold bullfights.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb