Day 2 and less jet-lagged


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 17th 2007
Published: May 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Black SquirrelBlack SquirrelBlack Squirrel

Yeah... it's a black squirrel. This one is actually in Omaha. I was driving one day, saw it, and pulled over to take this picture.
I don't think that I could ever get used to Spaniards' sense of time. 5:00 at night is still early in the afternoon... 10:00 is dinner time. I got hungry last night at 6:00, but nothing is open yet. Would I have gone even if it were? Probably not. I really need to get over my phobia of speaking Spanish. I didn't say anything yesterday, though, so today so far I've done infinitely better. 5 words! Honestly, it was out of sheer necessity. I hadn't eaten since shortly after my plane took off from New York on Tuesday night... yeah, almost 2 days ago. I didn't eat for 2 days because I didn't want to speak Spanish... isn't that ridiculous? Well, today I was surprisingly still hungry. I decided that since I had to do it, I'd go for something easy and less intimidating: McDonalds. Yeah, I don't eat McDonalds, and Spanish McDonalds isn't any better. Their menu consisted of a McPollo sandwich (yeah, seriously) and about 5 different kinds of hamburgers. No grilled chicken, no fish, no nuggets, no nada. So I worked up the courage and went up to the kid working there who was probably about 15,
Statue in Plaza MayorStatue in Plaza MayorStatue in Plaza Mayor

It's a statue... I don't know what of.
gave him an apologetic look, and returned his "hola". That was word #1. I wasn't ready for full sentences, so I mumbled "can i get a..." and word #2: ensalada. Then he threw out a whole slew of words that I wasn't prepared for and therefore didn't understand. I looked at him blankly and he pointed to the menu. Word #3: césar. He typed it in, said "finished?" and I paid him. Then I realized that I should've ordered a drink too. Word #4: agua? He was so nice... I'm probably looked like I was about to cry, so he jsut smiled and went and got me some water. And word #5: gracias. That's 5 words! It was admittedly a very poor effort. My Spanish isn't all THAT bad, but I froze. As I walked away I thought "Wow, that could've been a lot easier: '¿Puedo tener una ensalada césar y agua, por favor?'" But it was not meant to be. Next time maybe. Tonight I may feel like eating again... but probably not. It'll probably be another 2 days, but then I'm determined to used a whole sentence. I'll think it out before I walk up there because apparently
Plaza MayorPlaza MayorPlaza Mayor

Here's a panorama (or what my camera does as a panorama). The whole thing is enclosed.
I crack under pressure. I'll let you know tonight whether I was successful tonight though.

Also today, I made it beyond McDonalds (though I've walked up and down Calle de Atocha about 800 times). I went to Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol. Honestly, not much to write home about (and, technically I AM writing home). Since I'm sure no one really knows what they are though, I'll tell you. Plaza Mayor is a big enclosed area with a statue in the middle (see the picture). All around the plaza are little shops. It's actually really neat looking. It's kind of just a place to come and shop and just hang out. There were quite a few people there and it was a Thursday afternoon. But then again, there are a lot of people everywhere here! I don't know if I'm just in a really touristy area, but the streets are SO busy with people walking around. Puerta del Sol is pretty much just a big intersection with shops and a statue that looks like George Washington on a horse... I don't think it was though 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Plaza MayorPlaza Mayor
Plaza Mayor

Another random picture


17th May 2007

Ha, ha. You must be starving. Next time try to order something else with the same amount of words. You don't have to translate "May I have..." as "Puedo tener...". In Spanish you order things in a direct way: "Una ensalada César y un BigMac, por favor. That's perfectly right. You'll notice that most of the time you can also spare the 'por favor', nobody will think you're unpolite. Just say "Una ensalada, un BigMac y una coca-cola. Gracias" Good luck.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb