Madrid!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
August 31st 2011
Published: September 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I love this city!

Today I met up with Brady who is my unofficial tour guide of Madrid. He had the day off work and wanted to take me to see the things most people don't. I've already been to the Royal Palace and seen the Prado Museum, and while I could have gone again, I really wanted to see the parts of Madrid that most people don't.

We met at the Puerta del Sol. One of the largest squares in Madrid, there are always tons of people and things to see here. Brady was telling me about some protests where literally people camped out in the square for months. I love how passionate people from Spain are.

No campers this time, but plenty of booths for different causes. It seems that while the Plaza Mayor used to be the main plaza, this has turned mainly touristy and the Puerta del Sol is the place to be.

After doing a little people watching in the Puerta, we headed down towards Retiro Park.

On our way we stopped at the Caixa Forum. This little known museum is loved by the locals. Its free entrance to them and exhibits change monthly. I guess the exhibits are quite good, free or not too!

In front of the Caixa Forum there is a large wall, almost as tall on the building itself, completely covered in bushes. Like bushes growing sideways out of the wall. I've included a picture but it looks fake or like foam or something, but these are live plants that they tend to daily.

After the Caixa we went to the train station. I've seen the station from the outside but never went in. Wow is it different than I thought!

Unlike the great halls of the New York or Chicago Train Stations, in Madrid, they've filled the waiting area with a huge tropical forest and lagoon for all kinds of turtles. There are pubs around the court that you can sit 'outside' and look at the forest area. Truely amazing.

The turtle lagoon, as I like to call it, has hundreds and hundreds of turtles. So many that they were fighting for every bit of land, even standing on each others backs to take a break from swimming!

Next we headed into Retiro Park and walked it the long way. Such a beautiful park.

One of the pictures looks like it is just play equipment for kids, but really the structures are to help you work out. People from around the area run or walk to the park and use this 'free gym' equipment for things like push ups, pull ups, etc. There were about 10 people working out at this area itself!

About halfway through the park we stopped at Crystal Gardens. This is somewhere I would love to get married.

The entire building is made of glass and is truly beautiful on a sunny day.

The steps down from Crystal Garden lead right into a lake which is fed by a waterfall on the opposite side.

In the lake I saw the craziest thing.. a black swan! I was totally amazed by this. I didn't know swans could be black! Opposite Albino Gene?

Next we headed to the infamous Retiro Park Lake and watched the boats drift in the hot sun. Cutting through a few side paths and maybe over a couple gates, we made it onto the actual statue behind the lake and were able to take close up pictures. My feet were starting to hurt so we sat for a bit on the steps of the statue, getting a different view of the lake than most. Just what I wanted.

Later we cut back through town and Brady showed me the best coffee shop in the 'gay community', the best place for Churros in the shopping district, and the best place for Tapas (Spanish sandwiches or snacks) in the bar neighborhood.

I swear I now have walked every plaza, puerto, and calle of Madrid.

By the time we reached the Royal Palace, I needed another break so we sat on the side steps of the palace. Not many people venture to this side and there is a great overlook to the newer parts of Madrid.

On this side we also were able to venture through the 'Statue Cemetery'.

The Original Statues that were to be place on top of the Royal Palace were too heavy, so they were place in the garden on the side of the palace.

After a bit more shopping, (and Brady showing me a few other local places), we headed back to Sol so I could take the metro home.

Later tonight me and a few of the people on the tour are going out with Brady and some of his friends to some local places.

Adios!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb