Halloween 09'


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
November 7th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

"muerto mark" en metro"muerto mark" en metro"muerto mark" en metro

me on the metro at 8 in the morning, guh.
Charisma returned to Paris early this morning. Work was fine. Now I am home and decided to blog and document the holiday at school, Charisma's visit, and future plans. Halloween in Arganda Del Rey was pretty damn fun. I didn't want to spend a lot of money on a costume, so at the very last minute I decided to find some blood and makeup and go as "muerto Mark". I woke up around 6:30 am to glue spiders all over my face and arms, and apply the fake blood to my head. I had some makeup from my Walgreen days, so I applied some to make my face more corpse-like. I must admit, that I did a pretty efficient job, and on the metro I received a variety of looks and double looks, I kept telling myself: "this is for the kids." I arrive right on time to class, needless to say, everyone LOVED the new, more dead, English assistant. The kids especially loved the big bag of candy that I had purchased also at the very last minute. It cost roughly $30, but again, it was for the kids.
I told the children of what kids in the United States
Paloma y yoPaloma y yoPaloma y yo

my very favorite 3rd grader, so smart and helpful.
do for the holiday, and proceeded to tell a scary story. A story that I had conjured up, again, at the last minute. I wanted to incorporate what we had been learning, and at the same time, make the story not too terribly scary. The kids loved the story, it gave me the incentive to actually begin a rough draft of the story itself, maybe write in Spanish and see what I can do with the story in the future. After the story, I showed the kids a youtube clip of THIS IS HALLOWEEN. They really enjoyed it, I'm not certain they understood the entire song, but they loved the video and asked to watch once more before class ended. During break we walked around to other classrooms and the kids sang a Halloween song. The morning went by quite fast, and after break I setup my ring toss game that I was in charge of. I had extra candy, so their treat was one piece for completing the task. I was one of the few to bring candy, with the financial recession, holidays were pretty much up to the staff, and I wanted to do what I could to
Adrian y yo (MY LITTLE BATMAN)Adrian y yo (MY LITTLE BATMAN)Adrian y yo (MY LITTLE BATMAN)

here is my favorite 2nd grader, he is soo funny and cute, he always hugs me and asks questions, soo bright and fun to teach!
make this a memorable experience, they dressed up and the holiday really is for the children anyhow, so why not put my best foot forward and make my presence known.
My knee was killing me after this event, I ended up closing after the 1st and 2nd graders went through the ring toss. I didn't hand out candy to my third graders, I wasn't particularly fond of them the past week, my very favorite student is in the third grade, I asked a few if they wanted a photo with me. So I came home, Pablo and Amancio both showed up and stared at me. They asked how the day was, and I preceded to tell them the details and how almost every child dressed for the holiday and of my scary story. They were very entertained. I wanted a photo with them, but seeing as how it really wasn't there holiday to celebrate, I decided to remain silent. I ended up calling Danny Jones to go out later to Chueca. I felt very festive, I didn't dress up, and neither did Danny, but we managed to have a good time. The following Saturday, Halloween we were celebrating Danny's Birthday,
Alya y yoAlya y yoAlya y yo

she is very sweet, she reminds me of my sister Jayla when she was young
and also at noon I had to make it over to the airport to pick up Charisma.
I was soo excited to see her, I noticed first thing that her hair was cut. Short. Really short. We nearly looked like twins. She was happy to see me, we were in reverie of the idea of us together, and my living in a foreign country for the second time this year. We went to my house, neither room mate was home, she showered and I tidied up my room (the past week I was sick and didn't really do much of anything). Afterwords we ended up eating at a cafeteria near plaza Prosperidad. It was one of the first times here that I did not like what I had ordered, there was some kind of fish in my sandwich, I took it out, but for the rest of the meal my hands smelled like fish and it grossed me out, especially being in the state I was, physically. I mentioned how I wanted to go to Gran Vía and do some shopping. There was a new H&M in a new building that was pretty impressive. I saw this gorgeous purple shirt
Alba y yoAlba y yoAlba y yo

here is another trouble maker, she has some learning problems, I do my best to keep patient with her
the last time I was there with Izzy, and I wanted to go back and treat myself with the money I had made from my very first paycheck working in Madrid. While we were shopping I told her about the friends I have made here thus far in Madrid, and how there was a birthday party that we were invited to in the evening. I wanted to find a cuff or something small and cheap to get Danny for his birthday. I ended up purchasing the shirt, and as I paid and left the clerk said "arigato", he must have thought that I was Japanese, I told Charisma immediately. It was pretty hilarious.
We ended up a bookstore somewhere around Tribunal (I believe), Charisma couldn't find the book that she was looking for, we were both getting hungry, and I was still looking for a Birthday gift for Danny. We ended up at the stationary store ORDNING & REDA where I purchased a pencil case, two pencils and a rubber (erasure). It was more than I had wanted to spend, though it was wrapped so nice, a skill that I gravely lack in the gift-giving business. So we headed over
Lucia y yoLucia y yoLucia y yo

she is soo cute and smart, but a bad listener.
to VIPS to eat. Ah, VIPS, I am reminded of GDL and Gera eating at the Denny's equivalent. The food is much better though, I had ordered a coffee con helado and Charisma ordered a milkshake I believe. We both shared papatas fritas. We headed back home, Amancio was the first room mate for Charisma to meet. He was cordial, but I warned her prior that he is a bit, how can I say? pretentious at times, especially when referring to the clash of culture and the superior "English". She totally got what I had warned her about, we even mentioned someone whom we both thought of in reference to the behavior of Amancio. Not to place anything pejorative on his attitude, because he is a very nice person, he offered us an air mattress and also a mat of sorts to sleep on. While they were talking I was getting ready for Danny's Birthday. I wanted to dress up, I decided to put back on the blood (since I had spent money on it) for one last night, it was after all, Halloween.
The party was in full force when we had arrived. I recognized a few people, Danny
marimar y yomarimar y yomarimar y yo

the second grade instructor, I'm with her most of the school day
(of course), Rachele, Jupiter, and a few others. I met some school friends of Danny & Rachele, who were still studying, and others who were in the Middlebury program as well. It was interesting, I felt like the older person of the group, but that is fine, I mixed myself a drink, brought Charisma a coke, and we chatted with a few girls.
Charisma left before the metro closed, as well as a few others, only a few people remained. Rachele mentioned we would be heading out to Chueca, dance and drink at a few bars, maybe a club. We all made sure to finish our drinks, needless to say everyone in the group was sufficiently smashed by the time we had left Danny's home.
The very first place we headed to was GHUETTO. And of course Ricardo (or whoever he really is) was working of course. He saw me in my makeup, smiled, and moved on to the next customer. I wonder if he knew that I had been going out with his friend Alex? I'm almost certain, I remember talking to Alex one night about the entire situation. I really had no qualms with him, or for us
Alberto y yoAlberto y yoAlberto y yo

another favorite, he is very very good with English, and adorable!
being there. I know why Rachele wanted to see him, she was talking about riding the white horse again, and asked if it was alright if she continued to talk to him. Why would I mind? Just because he stopped talking to me? We didn't click, his friend likes me, took me out a few times, its all good. So after the GHUETTO we headed to another bar about a few blocks away, then we were waiting in line for this club a block away from BLACK AND WHITE, when Danny left. We called him and asked him where he was, and what he was doing. He was looking for his friends that he met the evening when we all got together with Ricardo and Alex. They said that they were going to a club called Delirium. I wasn't sure I wanted to go, I didn't have that kind of money to enter a club. I was already drunk anyhow, though I sent Alex a text to let him know where we would be going, he was getting off of work around 1am, and maybe he wanted to see me all bloody for the holiday weekend.
Alex ended up meeting
lucia y yolucia y yolucia y yo

she is soo cute, quiet but always calls me "profe"
with us in front of BLACK AND WHITE, where I had thought we were going to go, Danny was upset and said he wanted to meet up with his friends, and for us to go to DELIRIUM. I asked Alex if that was alright, I don't think he minded at all. Turns out DELIRIUM was amazing! Most everyone was dressed up, the club itself was huge! I had so much fun dancing with Alex, (we lost Danny the minute we entered). I stayed and talked with Alex, he did pay for me to get in, and he is a nice guy, which is rare from what I hear. I'm not sure when everyone left, I remember Danny getting mad at Rachele, and Rachele leaving the club. I think Alex and I departed soon after. I didn't arrive at my home until around 8:30a.m. I asked Charisma to take the home phone to bed with her so I could call and she could buzz me in. That did not happen. I was drunk and tired and wanted to go to bed. I called the home phone over and over. Finally Amancio answered. I was totally smashed and I think I kept
sara y yosara y yosara y yo

the 3rd grade instructor I work with, she loved my costume
repeating for him to let me inside. Once inside I babbled on and on about the night and the club and the holiday. I went into my room, woke Charisma up, and we talked until 10a.m. I believe. What a great holiday it turned out to be.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

hmmmhmmm
hmmm

I believe first grade instructor, she is very kind and we do language exchange during break sometimes
Rocio y yoRocio y yo
Rocio y yo

she's such a smart ass in class, but very bright :)
najma y yonajma y yo
najma y yo

another auxiliary I work with from London


16th November 2009

look at your expression in the picture with lucía! lol i knew you'd love ordning & reda p.s. top books on fuencarral is in b/w bilbao & quevedo

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb