Hostal Berlín Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 26th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Second day in Hostal Berlín, only half a block away from the Ópera metro station. I am fatigued, I have to assume it is result of my ventures in Chueca, particularly the Black & White bar. What can I say? I'm drawn to bars with drag shows- dates back to 60 South in Denver, and of course, Charlie's Denver. Much like Arizona's in GDL, I didn't really understand the humor in the jokes, but can feel the sentiment behind the words, gestures, the clothing. Danny and I spent our time downstairs talking and drinking. 8 euro Rum & cokes filled our hands, we conversed in the ambiance of disco lighting and Kiss TV (what I assume is a variation of a music video channel in Madrid), I danced a bit as we talked, thinking how we were both off to such an exciting time, being here in Madrid this year.
I won't go into great detail, but there was a few encounters with locals, Danny flipped one off after being called maricón in CHUECA (!?!) the man came after him, being less intoxicated I alleviated the situation by pushing the drunk back to his corner on the street, he did not come back. We both met several men, Danny got three numbers to my one, however at this moment, that is the least of my concerns. Danny has a master's (at 22!!!) in Spanish, his ability to speak well with any Madrileño far surpasses my ability, however, I make up for the lack in language in my character, and the way I manage to carry myself. We went out again the next evening with the women that we met in plaza chueca, these wonderful chicas, Debra and Sherry. They're currently on vacation, taking tours of Spain, and are returning this coming Sunday. We headed to a few bars, the ladies called it an early evening, I asked Daniel if he would like to return to Black & White. We stayed for awhile, Danny was tired of the smoke and soon left, I remained behind and made a few friends.
I regret to say that I remember no names, I did have lots to drink and after sometime it becomes 2 for 1 (I didn't know this!) So in revealing this information, I broke my promise of not being hungover, because I felt (and still feel) like poo. I didn't even drink yesterday, though I could/should be eating better. I just have no place to eat. That is one thing I do not like about this hostel, there is no kitchen, so I have to buy sandwiches or fast food, or other small expensive crap to eat until I move into my home. I made one friend off Okcupid! but he flaked out on me today (he may have just wanted a hookup, creep) so I am just in my private room reading, doing homework, and watching the new Melrose Place- I figured I might as well, I have the time, it's FREE, and I'm lonely.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb