Going back in time!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 28th 2008
Published: June 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have decided to go back and document my trip better than I did the first time- so that others can understand the greatness of studying abroad! And maybe a little for my own sake to remember my trip for myself. I will be transcribing my actual handwritten journal from the trip, maybe an entry every couple of days or so.

May 17th, 2007
Bienvenido a Espana! We arrived today- the much anticipated trip is finally here. This day(s) has been such a blur though because 11+ hours of travel + jet lag = a little out of it, needless to say. However, I am fairing much better than the London trip (from 2004). The flights were easy, though a bit long, and our only hitch came in arrival trying to find my grandmother who ended up coming in a different terminal. We did finally find her, and we all met up with Coleman right away (so good to see him!!) *at this point I hadn't seen my brother since January since he'd been living in Spain*. We headed on the metro to the city of Madrid. I felt like I was in a movie as I emerged from the underground to the immediate site of beautiful antique buildings and bright sun. I immediately felt at home. Being surrounded by Spanish is magical because it's no longer foreign, it's real and useful. Hearing my brother speak it is fantastic. We found our hotel and got settled. We are right off Gran Via (which is definitely grand and full of everything) near a beautiful park, it's perfect. We walked around a bit, trying to get our bearings about us and it was delightful. There is something so appealing about this country. It could be my love for Spanish for sure, and/or my love for other cultures. Whatever it is, it's wonderful and I am no longer unconfident in my ability to survive/get along here. I am certainly ready for a good night's sleep though! I can't wait to go and explore more tomorrow...One thing: people just SIT here, drinking their drinks and eating their little snacks at restaurants. They just go and SIT for really long periods of time. I love it. All for now, nos vemos!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb