Day 2


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
January 12th 2008
Published: January 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was my frist day of this visit walking around Madrid. It was a lot of fun, we first walked to a tourist station to get a map and when the girl could tell I was American she asked if we wanted one in English. Of corse I said no, I am a big girl and I have to try and conqure the langague barrier. So then we went to The Prado Museao. There we covered the basic Spanish painters Goya, Velazques, and El Greco. It was nice to see all the paintings person. I got to see a few Carravajio as well. That was totally impressive. Though it is all subject matter of kings and queens and fuit. There is also the all important subject of religion which is basically the only thing classical masters painted when not comissioned for the king.
Then after we went to find a resturant for lunch that served food from Ana's region of Spain, the north. It was more expensive than we wound have liked it because the origional resturant we wanted to go into had a half hour wait, which here is unheard of and no one will wait that long. They also charged us for a paella that was ment for 4 people instead of 2, or maybe 2 grown men. We have corcettas and mixed paella. I have to get used to the fact that I can drink cervesas here in Spain, I am still with the water and coke.
During our walk I practiced lots of my Spanish with Ana. It is easy with her becuase she corrects me and can understand my bad grammer. She says I pronounce things well just get the tenses wrong. I'm glad I can get my point accross at least.
We walked to the Royal Palace but it was closed, we know now it closes at 4. We covered the Plaza del Sol, Plazaz Ana Maria, Plaza Isabella II, and the Plaza Mayor. Lots of places, and everywhere was shopping. I can't make myself at this moment buy anything, it all looks nice but nothing that I would want to bring back to my familiy.
Tonight we have going to have chocolate con churros for dinner and then go out! It will be fun, yesterday was hard but it is getting much easier by the day.

hasta luego!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb