my first day


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
January 11th 2008
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So it is my first day in Spain and I will be the first to say that I was unprepared for the culture shock. I got hit with it hard and I never expected it to be so confusing. I can get around Washington, DC perfectly fine with my eyes closed. But this city is much different.
Funny story: the first thing out of customs I did was exchange dollars for eruos and man is the rate bad today. When I walked up tothe counter I obivously look American and the man said "hello" to me so I said it back. Then he asked for my passport and said "Ellen you need to speak Spanish from now on". But it was in a stern kind of teacher sort of way. That was the first time I realized I'm sort of out of my league here. I didnt think it was so funny when it happened.
Then I got my luggage and went to find a taxi. Of corse you must go to the beginning of the line to get a taxi, but another funny thing was that the taxi drivers dont wait in there car are you end up waiting for the drivers to come back. I was oh so confused about it! Finally a nice driver from the back of the line offered to drive me and of corse I said yes because I was feeling very out of place. Man the looks he got from the other drivers were incredible. But he got me where I needed to go finally. This was my first attempt at conversation and it went tollerably well for me, he probably though I was stupid.
Then at Ana and Angel's apartment I took a shower and a nap and was awoken by the new cleaning lady. I went down to say hi but I scared her more than anything and when I tried to be convesational I realized I was just getting in her way and went back to bed.
Angel came back from work at 2 to take me to lunch (he says his job is like American jobs only 1 hour for lunch). For my first Spanish meal I had salad and PIZZA. Yes, apparently this is Spanish as well people. Though it was U.S. time for breakfast so I could barley eat much. Angel says he doesnt cook whatsoever so I figure we will be going out a lot for these 5 days!
Luckily, their apartment is a twenty minute walk from the Prado museum and any other art galleries I would like to see. I will save lots of money walking around and doing the free things here. In the U.S it seems like only Washington really has the free museums do to the Smithsonian Insitution, every other major city museums cost money. In Spain lots of museums are free and if they charge admission just show a student i.d. and they will let you in for free. Its pretty cool and a total perk to visiting here. Though its only been one day I still have high hopes for my short visit here.

On a side note... I totally agree with Sarah that people here are no where near as friendly as I thought they would be. I dont expect people to wave to you on the streets, but when you ask for help they look at you strange and try to pawn you off onto someone else. The only people who have been sincerely nice to me are those who know Ana and Angel and were alerted to my arrival and need of help prior to my comming. So I know it will get better and some spaniards are offended by my Spanish skills being so poor, but still its not like I expected.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb