Madrid, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
December 29th 2007
Published: December 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MadridMadridMadrid

En la Centro Comercial
I am in Madrid. It certainly could be worse. I am in a very nice hotel room drinking a bottle of amazing spanish wine and eating delicious cheese and bread. Earlier I walked around the Centro Comercial for a few hours and took some pictures. This city is very beautiful. However I am ready to be out of civilization for a while. Beside the spanish language and the food, this place is a lot like the US. I saw a Burger King earlier. Bummer. Don't worry I didn't eat there. I just scoweled at it and wondered why they wanted all of the world to be fat asses and not just the US. What can you do?

The people here are not as polite as I thought they would be... I was definitely getting a little lonely until I got my first smile out of someone. There is life here after all. That's all I needed. Acknowledgement that I was a human. I always thought that I would never actually feel "culture shock" like everyone told me I would. But I was wrong, and it's only been about 13 hours. Damn. Oh Well.

I also went searching for paella today. No luck. Well, I saw it on a menu but I wasn't about to spend 15 euros (20+ Dollars)on it. So I went to a Cafe and got some wine and tapas. It was incredible. I am not disappointed. The wine here is amazing, and tapas, oh man... These few days in Madrid will not be taken for granted. This place is great. I am just ready to get out of civilization and go rough it in the jungle for a while.

I am extremely excited about life right now. I am a very lucky person to be able to do all this. I will not take any of this for granted. I really do appreciate all of the things that man has created, however, I am ready to go experience God's hand in all this chaos. I want to see the side of the natural world that I have never seen. Wild monkeys? untainted wilderness? really? that sound good to me. I just don't really see man-made structures as amazing. Beautiful, but not amazing. I am really ready to see the side of God's work that I have not yet seen. I'll let you know how it is.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb