Happy Thanksgiving


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
November 22nd 2007
Published: November 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy Thanksgiving family! Laurel and I are making mashed potatoes, stuffing, turkey, and cranberry sauce in our medieval kitchen tonight (complete with a Thanksgiving centerpiece and a that Laurel's mom sent us along with the stuffing)...at least it will be true pilgrim style. If that fails, though, we're also going to Hard Rock Cafe for dessert, because there is no way I'm even attempting to make pumpkin pie.

Things that moving to Spain has made me grateful for:

Working Appliances. This category isn't against Spain, but my apartment. Appliances include a cold fridge, a dishwasher that isn't my own two hands, a toilet that you can go number two in without hesitance, a shower with constant hot water and pressure, and the mere existence of a dryer.

Being near an ocean. Portland might not be ON the coast, nor Corvallis (Nor Eugene for that matter), but the comfort that it's an hour away is one I had taken for granted. Not to mention the fact that it's so dry here my lips bleed if I smile.

Actual Fast Food. Not that I eat fast food, but homesickness has led us to burger king or subway a few times, and the definition of fast food here is "you'll get your fast food tasting meal eventually." This goes for restaurants, too. This explains why a tip isn't really customary. Also at restaurants, you better eat all that eventual food because don't even think about taking your left overs home.

goodwill. Nothing like cheap clothes with history. And a few mysterious stains.

Pick up after your dog laws. At least, enforced ones. The sidewalk is often an obstacle course of poo.

Shops open on Sundays. Or even between the hours of 2 and 5.

Costco. Buying in volume never seemed so foreign. I miss KIRKLAND!

Homework. no joke.

Seasons. There's a fallen leaf here and there, but Oregon has the best seasons in the world.

A geographically available family. Particularly on Thanksgiving.

American Football. It might not be Notre Dame's year, but even watching that team lose feels homey.

Living in the country. City people don't believe me when I tell them that where I live, you can actually SEE most of the stars in the sky.

The Christmas Tree Lighting. And all of you in town better go tomorrow.

Affordable peanut butter. Because eating a 10 dollar jar of peanut butter by the spoonful is begging for bankruptcy.

Sarcasm. No one gets my sense of humor here and I fear it's affecting my Spanish reputation.

Maps. Because I've gotten lost. A lot.

Technology. Yupp, even though I'm cursed with it not working, an occasional functioning skype or internet connection keeps me somewhat in the loop.

Patient parents. Mom and Dad, thank you for not putting me up for adoption when I was little. If I was anything like the twins I watch now, it must have been tempting on occasion.

and finally,
my arms and legs. just because.



Advertisement



22nd November 2007

things that miss you
since you made a list of things that you miss, i'm reversing it: things that miss you: -sharpies scrubs, side reel, etc. watching and falling asleep to, even when i get annoyed that you turn off the lights and sleep on my side of the bed. -grover (he is playing by himself right now, its pretty pathetic looking and i decided to add this on there) -the subaru, even though sometimes when you drive it i get whip lash -movie selection at dads, because i tried to decide on a movie the other night and stood there for 10 minutes and knew that if you were there you would have picked up charlies angels 2 and settled that matter -portland because you appreciate it and remember things like the christmas tree lighting, which i forgot about until you told me about 4 seconds ago sigh, im going to go eat some more special K and maybe some hummous then eat russian food for thanksgiving love you! beanie

Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb