First Sunday of Advent!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
December 2nd 2007
Published: December 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

My advent calendar this year is Winnie the Pooh, a gift from Mary Geisler from when she and her friend Christy came to visit us last month on their way back from Japan. Laurel's is disney princess themed. We are thrilled about them. And not just because it's free chocolate, but because it's free chocolate that reminds us every day that it is Christmas season.

Also the most wonderful reminder of Christmas season: My very first care package from home. It was the earliest Christmas I'd ever had. The door man gave it to me and I ran up five flights of stairs with the same enthusiasm that I have coming down the stairs every Christmas (I only tripped once). Now, Dad had told me I was getting movies, and so that was what I had been expecting, hence the running up the stairs excitement, but I had no IDEA I was in store for basically a surprise party Christmas in a box...and the only way I can thank you is with poetry:

‘Twas the month before Christmas
And all throughout Spain
The American girls wished for snow and not rain.

Their stockings were hung on the terris with care
In hopes that their laundry soon they could wear.

Our Spanish had nestled all snug in our heads
But visions of Portland danced in our heads
With Mom and her mysigt and Dad’s Christmas quips
Sabine’s weekend T-shirt and Sofia’s starbuck’s trips.

The St. Nick looking doorman called out to me one day
And pulled out a box from his metaphorical sleigh
“Para ti,” St. Nick said, and gave me a box
And I swore he was Santa despite the way that he talks.

I ran up the stairs with a childish glee
double-checked the label to make sure it was for me.
I entered my room and ripped off the tape
Merely wondering if the movies would star Captain Jack or Professor Snape

But as I lifted the lid, I got quite a surprise,
So much of one in fact, it brought tears to my eyes
Beneath all the packaging that had traveled so far
Was not one gift, but many that were way above par.

A stocking! And candy! And Holiday cards!
An outfit! And string lights that went on for yards!
My two favorite movies! And candles and more!
And Santas I knew only Dad would buy from the store.

A story from Henry, Christmas music to play,
And kind words from my family that would leave me happy till Christmas day.

So thank you, dear family, for the best Christmas ever,
You have made it more memorable than ever could weather.
And though I will miss you on this Christmas season,
Loving you so much makes it an okay reason.


p.s. I went to Sevilla this weekend and saw the 3rd biggest Cathedral in the world, where Christopher Columbus was buried, the palace, and the best Flamenco show of all time.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb