Familiar Faces


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
November 16th 2007
Published: November 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello! Tanto tiempo sin escribiros (so much time without writing you all!)

Well, I finally have a few novel things to write about, so I figured I would try to inform you about what we crazy Americans have been up to over in Spain lately.

I celebrated Halloween in Valladolid. Not too many people here celebrate Halloween, but there were a few españoles dressed up. Many of the bars we went to were decorated & the bartenders dressed up, so we didn´t feel totally out of place. However, it was not as spectacular as Halloween on State St, for example. I was a 'diablesa,' es decir I bought a pair of devil horns & a red mask. Seems like I should be able to use these items for Carnaval which is much more celebrated here in Spain than Halloween is.

The most exciting thing in my life recently is that Laura Flanagan from Capital Fitness came to visit me last weekend!!!

We had a blast. I picked up Laura in the airport at Madrid, after her long week of work in France. That was the first time I ever picked anyone up at an airport before. It was just like in the movies. I saw Laura come out of the doors, all of her luggage in tow, & we kind of ran (well, more like scuttled with our bags) towards each other. Her luggage toppled over as she tried to give me a hug.

I can't begin to tell you how amazing, yet how surreal it is to be in Spain with someone from the States. It is so nice to have someone that knows me so well here.

Laura & I spent the afternoon walking around Madrid (Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor), then we got lost on the Metro. Maldito Metro. One of our metro stops was the bus station at Méndez Álvaro. What a small world we live in. At the bus station, I ran into my friend Marco. I know Marco from Gym Bym. Just so happens he was coming back from his trip to Scotland to visit his girlfriend. Naturally, as in Spanish style, we all went out to dinner before he had to catch the bus back to Valladolid. What a coincidence.

We then spent the night partying with my friend, Nicole, that lives in Madrid. It was fun, yet it was an early night, es decir, we got home by 3:30, I think.

Got up at 6 am to pick my sister, Erica, up at the airport! Again, how strange to greet another familiar face.

Ooh...bell is ringing, will write more details later!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb