Bullfight


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
April 15th 2007
Published: April 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A group of us went to a bullfight tonight at Las Ventas (I think I got the right name). One of the guys in our group said the ring at Plaza de Toros holds 25,000 people and is the largest in the world. After watching the fight, I can see both sides of the argument - on one hand, I really respect the art of the sport, but on the other hand, it would be better if they didn't kill the bull (or at least didn't stab it multiple times before they killed it). Although the bull is injured, weak, and disoriented by the time the matador gets in the ring, the cape waving and dodging of the bull really is quite beautiful - almost like a dance. I could definitely appreciate the talent it takes to be successful in this sport. I got some REALLY great photos and some video (I'm not sure whether I'll get the video posted or not - the picture is pretty small and it may be hard to see on a computer).

The bullfight starts with a few people (not sure if they're "matadors in training" or more like rodeo clowns) waving capes
Round 1Round 1Round 1

I'm not sure if these are matadors in training or more similar to rodeo clowns
to run the bull around a while - partly for show, partly to tire the bull. The next "round" involves two men with lances on horseback. The men on foot attract the bull towards one of the men on horseback, who stabs the bull with a lance and is supposed to push the bull away with the lance (guess it's sort of a "man vs. beast" strength contest). Our professor is from Spain and told us that originally, the matadors were on horseback and would guide the horse with their legs while lancing the bull from horseback to kill it. After the bull has been lanced twice, two more men come out on foot with pointed sticks (kind of like short spears, I guess). I think THESE guys probably have the most guts of all of them. They get the bull to run at them, then they have to stick the two sticks into the bull's hump while dodging the bull. The matador comes out after all of this and taunts the bull with his cape, doing the "matador-bull dance" we all typcially think of when we think of bullfighting. Finally, after the matador has shown his skills and tired
Round 2Round 2Round 2

(the horse is blindfolded the whole time)
the bull some more, the matador is given a sword, which he drives into the bull to kill it. Then, they bring out mules to drag away the dead bull.

It was definitely an interesting experience. Can't say whether or not I'd do it again, but I think it's something people should see if they are in Spain. Like I said, I can see both sides of the argument for and against the sport. However, I DO think it would be better if they just showed off their skills and did the artful part of the sport without injuring or killing the bull. All in all, a great cultural experience that I would definitely recommend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb